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414.1 Definitions, Enforcement and Hearings. 
 
The provisions of Part 413 of this Title apply to this Part. 
 
414.2 Procedures for Applying for and Renewing a Registration 
 

(a) Applicants for a registration must submit to the Office: 
 

(1) a completed application, including required attestations, on forms furnished 
by the Office or approved equivalents. Such application and attestations must 
include an agreement by the applicant to operate the school-age child care 
program in conformity with applicable laws and regulations; 

 
(2) certificate of occupancy or other documentation from the local government 
authority having jurisdiction for determining compliance with the Fire Code and 
Building Code of New York State, or other applicable fire and building codes 
when the Fire and Building Code of New York State is not applicable, showing 
that the facility has been inspected and approved within the 12 months preceding 
the date of application for use as a child school age child care program, in 
accordance with the appropriate provisions of such code; 
 
(3) documentation from local zoning authorities or officials, where such 
authorities or officials exist, that a school-age child care program is a permitted 
use under any zoning code applicable to the area in which the school-age child 
care program is located; 
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(4) documentation from the local health department or the New York State 
Department of Health showing that the facility has been inspected and approved 
within the 12 months preceding the date of application; 
 
(5) where a program uses a private water supply, a report from a state licensed 
laboratory or individual, based on tests performed within the 12 months 
preceding the date of application, showing that the water meets standards for 
drinking water established by the New York State Department of Health; 
 
(6) certification, on forms provided by the Office, that the building, its property 
and premises, and the surrounding neighborhood and environment are free from 
environmental hazards. Such hazards include but are not limited to, dry cleaners, 
gas stations, nuclear laboratories or power plants, property designated as a 
federal superfund clean-up site, and any property with known contaminated 
ground or water supplies. Where the historical or current use of the building, its 
property and premises, or the surrounding neighborhood indicate that an 
environmental hazard may be present, inspection or testing must be completed 
by the appropriate local official or authority to determine if such hazard exists. 
Documentation of the inspection or testing must be appended to the statement 
required by this paragraph and include a statement from the appropriate local 
official or authority following this inspection and/or testing that the building, its 
property and premises, and the surrounding neighborhood meet applicable 
standards for sanitation and safety; 
 
(7) documentation from service personnel licensed by the New York State 
Department of State to perform fire alarm systems maintenance, repair and 
testing which shows that fire alarm and detection systems have been inspected, 
tested and maintained in accordance with the applicable requirements of the 
Fire Code and Building Code of New York State, or other applicable fire and 
building codes when the Fire and Building Code of New York State is not 
applicable, for use of the building as a school age child care program; 
 
(8) documentation from service personnel qualified to perform fire suppression 
systems testing showing that fire suppression equipment and systems have 
been tested and maintained in accordance with the requirements of the Fire 
Code and Building Code of New York State, or other applicable fire and building 
codes when the Fire and Building Code of New York State is not applicable, for 
use of the building as a school age child care program; 
 
(9) documentation from an inspector from the New York State Department of 
Labor, or an insurance company licensed to write boiler insurance in New York 
State, showing that all steam or hot water boilers have been inspected and 
approved in accordance with the requirements of the New York State 
Department of Labor. For all other fuel burning heating systems and equipment 
and boilers not subject to the New York State Department of Labor 
requirements, documentation of service by a heating contractor performed 
within the 12 months preceding the date of application; 
 
(10) a diagram of the portion of the building to be occupied by the school-age 
child care program and all adjacent areas of such building, as required in section 
414.3(a) of this Part;
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(11) a description of program activities offered to meet the needs of children, as 
described in section 414.7(a) of this Part; 
 
(12) a copy of the emergency plan and emergency evacuation diagram, as 
required in section 414.5(b) of this Part, specifying alternate means of egress; 
 
(13) a health care plan developed in accordance with the requirements of 
section 414.11(c) of this Part; 
 
(14) copies of sample menus for snacks and, where meals are provided, for 
meals, or a copy of the current letter of approval from the New York State Child 
and Adult Care Food Program;  
 
(15) where meals are provided but are not prepared at the program, a description 
of food service arrangements; 
 
(16) a sworn statement by the applicant indicating whether, to the best of the 
applicant's knowledge, the applicant has ever been convicted of a misdemeanor 
or a felony in New York State or any other jurisdiction, and fingerprint images to 
comply with the requirements of section 413.4 of this Title; 
 
(17) certification, on forms provided by the Office, that the applicant is in 
compliance with child support obligations or payments, in accordance with the 
requirements of section 3-503 of the General Obligations Law; 
 
(18) certification, on forms provided by the Office, that the school-age child care 
program is in compliance with workers' compensation in accordance with the 
requirements of New York State law; 
 
(19) Statewide Central Register of Child Abuse and Maltreatment and Justice 
Center for the Protection of Persons with Special Needs 
 
  (i)  the Statewide Central Register database form necessary to complete 

required screening by the Statewide Central Register of Child Abuse and 
Maltreatment to determine if the applicant is the subject of an indicated 
report of child abuse or maltreatment; 

 
(ii) the forms necessary to check the register of substantiated category one 
cases of abuse or neglect maintained by the Justice Center for the 
Protection of Persons with Special Needs per Section 495 of the Social 
Services Law;  

 
(20) a description of specific procedures which will assure the safety of a child 
who is reported to the Statewide Central Register of Child Abuse and 
Maltreatment as well as other children provided care in the school age child care 
program, as required in section 414.10(d) of this Part; 

 
(21) a description of the procedure to be used to review and evaluate the 
background information supplied by applicants for employment and volunteer 
positions, as required in section 414.13 of this Part; 
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(22) copies of the school age child care program’s personnel policies and 
practices; 
 
(23) a description of policies and practices regarding appropriate supervision of 
children as required in section 414.8 of this Part; 
 
(24) an outline of a plan for training as required in section 414.14 of this Part, 
including use of both in-service training and outside training resources; 
 
(25) a copy of a certificate of insurance from an insurance company showing 
the intent to provide general liability insurance to the school age child care 
program upon registration;  
 
(26) when the school-age child care program is owned by an individual, 
corporation, partnership or other entity using a business or assumed name, a 
copy of the certificate of doing business under an assumed name obtained from 
the county clerk; and 
 
(27) an email address for the director or other person designated to receive 
communications from the Office. If the applicant is unable to provide at least one 
valid email address, the applicant must provide a valid mailing address for the 
director or other person designated to receive written communications from the 
Office. 
 

(b) School-age child care programs located in public school buildings currently used for 
elementary, middle or secondary public education programs approved by the New York 
State Education Department are exempt from the requirements set forth in section 
414.2(a)(2)-(9) of this Part. Each such program must submit a copy of the current 
certificate of occupancy issued by the State Education Department as part of the 
application. For those programs not issued such certificates of occupancy, the 
appropriate local equivalent, acceptable to the State Education Department, must be 
submitted. 

 
(c) An application will only be accepted by the Office when the applicant submits the 
minimum threshold of information as required by Office policy. An application sent to the 
Office that does not meet the minimum threshold will not be accepted and will be 
returned to the applicant. Once an application has been accepted, all additional required 
information must be submitted within no later than 90 days. Failure to submit all required 
information within the required timeframes shall be considered a withdrawal of the 
application.   
 
(d) Applicants for a registration may not be issued a registration until an inspection of the 
school-age child care program has been conducted showing compliance with the 
requirements of this Part and the relevant provisions of the Social Services Law. 
 
(e) Renewal.  Applicants for renewal of a registration must submit to the Office at least 
60 days in advance of the expiration date of the registration the following: 
 

(1) a completed application for renewal, including required attestations, on forms 
furnished by the Office, or approved equivalents. Such application and 
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attestations must include an agreement by the applicant to operate the school-
age child care program in conformity with applicable laws and regulations;  
 
(2) certification, on forms provided by the Office, of the status of the individual 
applicant's child support obligations or payments, in accordance with the 
requirements of Section 3-503 of the General Obligations Law; 
 
(3) certification, on forms provided by the Office, that the program is in 
compliance with workers' compensation in accordance with the requirements of 
New York State law;  
 
(4) documentation of inspections and approvals as set forth in section 414.15(c) 
of this Part; 
 
(5) documentation showing compliance with the training requirements of section 
414.14 of this Part; 
 
(6) certification, on forms provided by the Office, that the building, its property 
and premises, and the surrounding neighborhood and environment are free from 
environmental hazards. Such hazards include but are not limited to, dry cleaners, 
gas stations, nuclear laboratories or power plants, property designated as a 
federal superfund clean-up site, and any property with known contaminated 
ground or water supplies. Where the historical or current use of the building, its 
property and premises, or the surrounding neighborhood indicate that an 
environmental hazard may be present, inspection or testing must be completed 
by the appropriate local official or authority to determine if such hazard exists. 
Documentation of the inspection or testing must be appended to the statement 
required by this paragraph and include a statement from the appropriate local 
official or authority following this inspection and/or testing that the building, its 
property and premises, and the surrounding neighborhood meet applicable 
standards for sanitation and safety; 
 
(7) documentation from the local health office or the New York State 
Department of Health showing that the facility has been inspected and 
approved within the 12 months preceding the date of application for renewal; 
 
(8) where a program uses a private water supply, a report from a state licensed 
laboratory or individual, based on tests performed within the 12 months 
preceding the date of the application for renewal, showing that the water meets 
the standards for drinking water established by the New York State Department 
of Health; 
 
(9) documentation from service personnel licensed by the New York State 
Department of State to perform fire alarm systems maintenance, repair and 
testing which shows that fire alarm and detection systems have been inspected, 
tested and maintained during the current registration period in accordance with 
the applicable requirements of the Fire and Building Code of New York State;
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(10) documentation from service personnel qualified to perform fire suppression 
systems testing showing that fire suppression equipment and systems have 
been tested and maintained during the current registration period in accordance 
with the requirements of the Fire and Building Code of New York State, or other 
applicable fire and building codes when the Fire and Building Code of New York 
State is not applicable, for use of the building as a school age child care 
program; 
 
(11) documentation from an inspector for the New York State Department of 
Labor or an insurance company licensed to write boiler insurance in New York  
State showing that all steam or hot water boilers have been inspected and 
approved during the current registration period in accordance with the 
requirements of the New York State Department of Labor. For all other fuel 
burning heating systems and equipment and boilers not subject to the New York 
State Department of Labor requirements, documentation of service by a heating 
contractor performed within the 12 months preceding the date of the application 
for renewal;  
 
(12) a copy of a certification of insurance from an insurance company showing 
general liability insurance is provided to the school age child care program and 
a copy of the insurance policy; and 
 
(13) an email address for the director or other person designated to receive 
communications from the Office. If the applicant is unable to provide at least 
one valid email address, the applicant must provide a valid mailing address for 
the director or other person designated to receive written communications from 
the Office. 

 
(f) Applicants for renewal of a registration may not be issued a registration until an 
inspection of the program has been conducted showing compliance with the 
requirements of this Part and the relevant provisions of the Social Services Law. 

 
(g) School-age child care programs located in public school buildings currently used for 
elementary, middle or secondary public education programs approved by the New York 
State Education Department are exempt from the requirements set forth in section 
414.2(e)(6)-(11). Each such program must submit a copy of the current certificate of 
occupancy issued by the State Education Department as part of the application for 
renewal. For those programs not issued such certificates of occupancy, the appropriate 
local equivalent, acceptable to the State Education Department, must be submitted. 

 

414.3 Building and Equipment 
 

(a) Each applicant must submit to the Office a diagram of the proposed school-age child 
care program at the time of application for registration. 

 
(1) The diagram must be labeled with the planned occupancy or use of all areas 

of the building and all outside areas to be used or occupied by the school-age 
child care program. The diagram must show: room dimensions; the age 
group(s) using each room; the size of the group(s) using each room; kitchen 
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and bathrooms for children and staff; exits; alternate means of egress; 
plumbing fixtures such as toilets, sinks and drinking fountains; and the 
outdoor play area showing its relationship to the building. 
 

(2) Whenever change(s), addition(s) or expansion(s) are proposed which will 
affect, or reasonably may be expected to affect, those portions of the building 
designated for the care of children or for their egress in case of an emergency, 
the program must receive written approval from the Office prior to initiating such 
change(s), addition(s), or expansion(s). 

 
(b) Areas that will be used by the children must be well-lighted and well-ventilated. 
Heating, ventilation and lighting equipment must be adequate for the protection of the 
health of the children.  
 
(c) Before any change is made, the Office must be notified and must approve the re-
designation of a classroom to a different age group of children. 

 
(d) A temperature of at least 68 degrees Fahrenheit must be maintained in all rooms to 
be occupied by children. 
 
(e) Children who require a rest period must be provided with clean, safe and sanitary 
individual sleeping arrangements. 
 
(f) Toxic paints or finishes must not be used on room surfaces, furniture or any other 
equipment, materials or furnishings which may be used by children or are within their 
reach. 
 
(g) Peeling or damaged paint or plaster must be repaired. 
 
(h) Concrete floors used by the children must be covered with appropriate material. 
 
(i) Readily accessible outdoor play space which is adequate for active play must be 
provided.  Outdoor space may include public parks, school yards or public play areas.  
A written diagram outlining how children will safely travel to and from this location must 
be developed and approved by the Office. 
 
(j) Toilet facilities and wash basins. 

 
(1) Convenient, adequate and sanitary toilet facilities must be provided for the 
children in a separate, properly ventilated room readily accessible to children.  
 
(2) Toilets must be in private stalls or have other provisions that ensure privacy.  
 
(3) One sanitary toilet and one wash basin must be available for every group of 
20 children, or part thereof. 

  
(k) Adequate and safe water supply and sewage facilities must be provided and must 
comply with State and local laws. Hot and cold running water must be available and 
accessible at all times. 
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(l) All buildings used for school-age child care programs must remain in compliance 
with the applicable provisions of the Fire Code and Building Code of New York State or 
other applicable fire and building codes when the Fire Code and Building Code of New 
York State is not applicable.  
 

(1) Any part of any building used as a school age child care program shall meet 
the requirements applicable under the Fire Code and Building Code of New 
York State or other applicable fire and building codes as appropriate to the ages 
of the children in care. 
 
(2) Buildings, systems and equipment must be kept in good repair and operate 
as designed. 
 

(m) The building number of the day care program shall be conspicuously displayed and 
visible from the street.  
 
(n) Children must be accommodated in rooms having a minimum of 35 square feet for 
each child, unless the room is used solely for activities where children will be seated  
while working on a particular activity or skill, then the room shall have a minimum of 20 
square feet for each child.   

 
(i) Areas used for staff lounges, storage spaces, halls, bathrooms, kitchens and 
offices may not be used in calculating the 35 square feet per child requirement.  
 
(ii) When determining total program capacity, there must be 35 square feet per 
child available. Areas used for large motor activity may only be counted toward 
the 35 feet per child if this space is available and dedicated for the sole use of 
the program during program hours. 

 
(o) There must be a separate quiet area, which can be adequately supervised, for 
children who become ill or who develop symptoms of illness. 

 
414.4 Fire Protection 
 

(a) Suitable precautions must be taken to eliminate all conditions which may contribute 
to or create a fire hazard. 

 
(b) Evacuation drills. 

 
(1) Evacuation drills must be conducted at least monthly during various hours of 
operation of the school age child care program. 
 
(2) When conducting evacuation drills the exit route must be varied to ensure 
that all approved means of egress are practiced.  
 
(3) When morning and afternoon shifts of care are provided, such drills must be 
conducted monthly during each shift of care.  
 
(4) The program must maintain on file a record of each evacuation drill 
conducted, using forms furnished by the Office or approved equivalents. 
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(c) Fire detection, alarm and firefighting equipment appropriate to the type of building 
construction, size, height and occupancy must be provided maintained and operate as 
designed. 
 
(d) All fire alarm and detection systems must be inspected, tested and maintained in 
accordance with the applicable requirements of Fire Code and Building Code of New 
York State or other applicable fire and building codes when the Fire Code and Building 
Code of New York State is not applicable.  

 
(1) All such inspections, testing and maintenance must be conducted by service 
personnel licensed by the New York State Department of State to perform fire 
alarm systems maintenance, repair and testing.  
 
(2) All staff must be instructed in the function and operation of fire alarm and 
detection systems used in the school-age child care program. 

 
(e) All fire suppression equipment and systems must be tested and maintained in 
accordance with the applicable requirements of the Fire Code and Building Code of New  
York State or other applicable fire and building codes when the Fire Code and Building 
Code of New York State is not applicable.  

 
(1) All such inspections, testing and maintenance must be conducted by service 
personnel qualified to perform fire suppression systems maintenance, repair and 
testing.  

 
(2) All staff must be instructed in the function and operation of fire suppression 
equipment and systems used in the school-age child care program. 

 
(f) Adequate means of egress must be provided. Children may be cared for only on such 
floors as are provided with readily accessible alternate means of egress to other floors, 
in the case of fire-resistant buildings, and to the outside in the case of non-fire-resistant 
buildings.  

 
(1) Designated means of egress must be remote from each other. 

 
(2) All corridors, aisles, and approaches to exits must be kept unobstructed at all 
times. 

 
(g) Trash, garbage and combustible materials must not be stored in the furnace room or 
in rooms or outdoor areas adjacent to the facility that are ordinarily occupied by or 
accessible to children. 

 
(h) The director or a designated qualified staff member must conduct monthly 
inspections of the premises to observe possible fire and safety hazards. Any such 
hazard must be corrected immediately.  

 
(i) A record of all inspections and all corrections must be maintained at the program or at 
a central location available for review upon request. 

 
(j) Steam or hot water boilers must be inspected and approved in accordance with the 
requirements of the New York State Department of Labor by an inspector from the New 
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York State Department of Labor or by an insurance company which is licensed to write 
boiler insurance in the State. All other fuel burning heating systems and equipment and 
boilers not subject to the New York State Department of Labor requirements must be 
serviced by a heating contractor once every 24 months. 
 

 
414.5 Safety 
 

(a) Suitable precautions must be taken to eliminate all conditions in areas accessible to 
children which pose a safety or health hazard. 
 

(1) The program must take suitable precautions to prevent the following: 
 

(i) serious injury of a child while in care at the program or being 
transported by the program;  

 
(ii) death of a child while in care at the program or being transported by 
the program. 

 
(b) The program must submit a written Emergency Plan and Emergency Evacuation 
Diagram using forms furnished by the Office or an approved equivalent form. Primary 
emphasis must be placed on the safe and timely evacuation and relocation of children. 
The plan must account for the variety of needs of children, including those with 
disabilities. 

 
(1) The plan, as submitted with the application or changed thereafter, must be 
reviewed with the parents of the children in the program and all staff that work in 
the program. 

 
(2) The Emergency Evacuation Diagram, as approved by the Office, must be 
posted in a conspicuous place in every room used by the school age child care 
program.  

 
(3) The Emergency Plan must include the following: 

 
(i) how children and staff will be made aware of an emergency; 

 
(ii) a designation of primary and secondary evacuation routes; 

 
(iii) methods of evacuation, including where children and staff will meet 
after evacuating the building, and how attendance will be taken; 
 
(iv) a plan for the safe evacuation of children from the premises, for each 
shift of care (morning and afternoon);  
 
(v) the designation of primary and secondary emergency relocation sites 
to be used in the case of an emergency, which prohibits re-entry to the 
child care premises, and how the health, safety and emotional needs of 
children will be met in the event it becomes necessary to evacuate to 
another location; 
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(vi) a strategy for sheltering in place, and how the health, safety and 
emotional needs of children will be met in the event it becomes necessary 
to shelter-in-place; 
 
(vii) notification of authorities and the children's parents;  
 
(viii) roles of staff; and 
 

(ix) procedures related to the reunification of children and 
caretakers. 

(4) Each program must hold two shelter-in-place drills annually during which 
procedures and supplies are reviewed. Parents must be made aware of this drill 
in advance. 
 
(5) The program must maintain on file a record of each shelter-in-place drill 
conducted, using forms provided by the Office or approved equivalents.  
 
(6) Parents must be made aware of the primary and secondary relocation sites 
and any changes to the plan in advance.  In the case that a program is directed 
to a different location by emergency services, the program must notify parents 
and the Office as soon as possible.  In the event that relocation is required, a 
written notice must be placed on the main entry to the child care space unless an 
immediate threat precludes the program from doing so. 
 
(7) Each program must have on site a variety of supplies including food, water, 
first aid and other safety equipment to allow for the protection of the health and  
safety of children in the event parents are unable to pick up children due to a 
local disaster. The plan must take into account a child's needs for an overnight 
stay.  Food supplies must be non-perishable and of sufficient quantity for all 
children for an overnight stay. Programs that serve food daily and have a food 
supply stored on site for their daily operation or are co-located at a site with a 
cafeteria, pantry or eatery of some kind are not required to store emergency food 
or water supplies if they can show that they have access to and permission to 
use those foods in a declared emergency. 

 
(c) Portable electric heaters or other portable heating devices, regardless of the type of 
fuel used, may not be used in school-age child care programs. 
 
(d) Whenever the heating system is in use, pipes and radiators accessible to children 
must have barriers or covers to protect children from injury, unless rooms are only used 
for sedentary activities such as homework, arts and crafts.  Radiators and pipes 
accessible to children, located in rooms used for physical activity and active play must 
have barriers or covers to protect children from injury whenever the heating system is 
in use. 
 
(e) Porches, decks and stairs must have railings with a barrier extending to the floor or 
ground to prevent children from falling. Acceptable types of barriers include, but are not 
limited to, banisters, intermediate rails, and heavy screening. 
 
(f) Barriers must exist to prevent children from gaining access to unsafe areas. Such 
areas include, but are not limited to, swimming pools, drainage ditches, wells, ponds, or 
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other bodies of open water, holes, wood and coal burning stoves, fireplaces, pellet 
stoves, permanently installed gas space heaters, or any other unsafe area.  
 
(g) The use of pools that have not received a Department of Health permit to operate, 
spa pools and all fill-and-drain wading pools are prohibited 

 
(1) No child shall participate in aquatic activities including, fishing, boating, 
swimming or any other activity on a body of water without a certified lifeguard 
present.  

 
(a) The certified lifeguard can be either a staff person of the program, or 
an employee of the venue. 
 
(b) If provided by the school age child care program, the certified 
lifeguard must be certified for the body of water they are supervising 
children in or near. 

 
(2) No child shall participate in activities at or near a body of water, without a 
staff person who is certified in cardio-pulmonary resuscitation and first aid 
present. 
 
(3) Only those swimming pools and bathing beaches that have a valid permit to 
operate issued from the local health department having jurisdiction for the 
bathing facility or those operated by a government agency may be used. 
 
(4) The program shall develop and implement a method to keep track of the 
location and maintain safety for all children during swimming and other off-site 
activities.  The program shall establish and follow a written plan which details 
the system of supervising and checking swimmers.  This includes a plan for 
children who are non-swimmers.  In addition, a plan for a lost swimmer must be 
established.  
 
(5) All staff attending the aquatic activity must review the aquatic activity plan 
before departing for the activity. 

 
(h) Public swimming pools and adjacent areas used by the children must be 
constructed, maintained, staffed and used in accordance with Chapter 1, subpart 6-1, 
of the New York State Sanitary Code, and in such a manner as will safeguard the lives 
and health of children. 
 
(i) When swimming is included as part of the program activities each child shall have a 
signed statement of permission from the parent to participate. 
 
(j) All field trips with an itinerary that includes an activity where emergency medical care 
is not readily available and/or an activity such as, but not limited to, wilderness hiking, 
rock climbing, horseback riding, bicycling, must be accompanied by a staff who 
possess a current first aid certificate and Cardio Pulmonary Resuscitation (CPR) 
certification. 
 
(k) If off-site events are part of the program’s activities, the school age child care 
program must develop and share with its program staff written plans that cover field trip  
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events. The safety plan must at least include requirements set in 414.5(g), 414.6 and 
414.8(o). 
  
(l) Animals and pets. 

 
(1) Any animal present at the program must present no evidence of disease or 
parasite and pose no threat.  
 
(2) All animals present at the program that require a license must be licensed.   
 
(3) All required vaccinations must be kept current.   
 
(4) The license and record of vaccinations must be available to the Office when 
requested.  
 
(5) The program must immediately notify the parents of children in care and the 
Office when an animal present at the program harms any person, including a 
child in care. 
 
(6) The provisions of this subdivision apply to all animals present at the program 
regardless of who owns the animal. 
 
(7) The program must provide parents with a written description of all animals 
present at the program prior to a child’s enrollment in the program. 
 
(8) Within twenty-four (24) hours that an animal is first kept on the premises of a 
child care program, the program must provide written notice to the Office and 
parents of children in care that such animal is being kept on the premises. 

 
(m) Communication. 

 
(1) The school age child care program must have immediate access to a 
minimum of one working landline telephone for general use and emergencies.  
A working mobile phone(s) is permitted for the purpose of promoting children’s 
safety and ensuring the orderly operation of the program, but its use does not 
remove the requirement for a designated on-site landline telephone.  
 
(2) 911 and the Poison control phone number must be posted conspicuously on 
or next to all stationary telephones designated for the school age child care 
program’s use.  
 
(3) Devices used for purposes of caller identification or call blocking shall not be 
used to block in-coming calls from parents of children in care, representatives of 
the Office or agents of the state or local government during the hours of 
operation of the child day care program. 

 
(n) Materials and play equipment. 

 
(1) Materials and play equipment used by the children must be sturdy and free 
from rough edges and sharp corners. 
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(2) Play equipment must be installed and used in accordance with the 
manufacturer's specifications and instructions, be in good repair, and be 
placed in a safe location. 
 

(3) Play equipment must be used in a safe manner. 
 
(4) Play equipment and apparatus may be used only by the children for whom it 
is developmentally appropriate. 
 
(5) All programs that substantially modify, or install new, outside play equipment 
must do so in accordance with the U.S. Consumer Product Safety 
Commission’s Public Playground Safety Handbook.  

 
(o) Clear interior or exterior glass doorways must be marked clearly to avoid accidental 
impact.  
 
(p) Glass in outside windows less than 32 inches above the floor level must be of safety 
grade or otherwise protected by use of barriers to avoid accidental impact. 
 
(q) Windows above the first floor that are accessible to children and present a fall hazard 
must be protected by permanent barriers or restrictive locking devices to prevent a 
window from opening fully thus preventing children from falling out the windows.  
 
(r) An operable flashlight or battery powered lantern must be kept in the child care area. 
Such equipment must be properly maintained for use in the event of a power failure. 
 
(s) Door latches, locks and covers 
 

(1) Every closet door latch in rooms used by the program, must be constructed to 
enable children to open the door from inside the closet.  
 
(2) Every bathroom door lock must be designed to permit opening of the locked 
door from the outside in an emergency. The opening device must be readily 
accessible to the staff. 
 
(3) Egress doors from the program must be able to be opened from inside 
without using a key.  

 
(t) Operating carbon monoxide detectors and alarms must be located in accordance 
with applicable laws. 
 
(u) The use of trampolines by day care children is prohibited, except for small one 
person exercise trampolines. 
 
(v) All matches, lighters, medicines, drugs, cleaning materials, detergents, aerosol cans 
and other poisonous or toxic materials must be stored in their original containers. Such 
materials must be used in such a way that they will not contaminate play surfaces, food 
or food preparation areas, or constitute a hazard to children. Such materials must be 
kept in a place inaccessible to children. 
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(w) Cleaning materials must be stored in their original containers unless the product’s 
use or the program’s health care plan indicates that the product be mixed with water 
before use. In this case, the container used for subsequent use of the mixed product 
must state the name of the cleaning material contained within.  Cleaning materials must 
be used in such a way that they will not contaminate play surfaces, food or food 
preparation areas, or constitute a hazard to children. Such materials must be kept in a 
place inaccessible to children. 
 
(x) Firearms, shotguns and rifles are prohibited at the child care program, except that 
nothing in this section shall be construed to prohibit a police officer or peace officer, as 
those terms are defined in section 1.20 of the criminal procedure law, or a security 
guard, as defined in section 89-f of the general business law, from possessing a firearm, 
shotgun or rifle on the premises for the protection of the child care program.  Each child 
care program shall post signs providing notification of such prohibition that read: "No 
firearms, shotguns or rifles are permitted on these premises."  Such signs, not less than 
eight and one-half inches by eleven inches, shall be posted in a prominent manner and 
within reasonable distance of each entrance of the child care program.  Such signs shall 
be distributed by the Office of Children and Family Services. 
 
(y) Staff and volunteers must take suitable precautions to prevent children from receiving 
burns caused by contact with hot liquids.   
 
(z) Pursuant to New York Public Health Law Section 2500-h, the program must comply 
with the anaphylaxis policy jointly issued by the Office and the New York State 
Department of Health and any amendments thereto. The program must notify the parent 
of any child in care of the anaphylaxis policy when the child is enrolled and annually 
thereafter. Notification shall include contact information for parents to engage further 
with the program to learn more about individualized aspects of the anaphylaxis policy. 

 
414.6 Transportation 
 

(a) The program must obtain written consent on forms furnished by the Office or 
approved equivalents from the parent of the child for any transportation of the children in 
care at the school-age child care program provided or arranged for by the program. 
 
(b) When transportation is provided or arranged for by the program, parents must be 
informed when the person who is providing transportation changes. 

 
(c) Parents must be informed of and agree to a transportation plan before a child can be 
transported by the program. 
 
(d) A child must never be left unattended in any motor vehicle or other form of 
transportation. The program must develop and follow procedures to guarantee no 
children are left alone on a bus, vehicle or other transportation modes without adult 
supervision at any time, including insuring all children have departed the vehicle. 
 
(e) Each child must board or leave a vehicle from the curbside of the street. 
 
(f) All children must be secured in child safety seats properly installed per manufactures 
recommendation, or with safety belts, as appropriate for the age of the child in 
accordance with the requirements of the Vehicle and Traffic Law, before any child may 
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be transported in a motor vehicle where such transportation is provided or arranged for 
by the program. 
 
(g) Programs that offer transportation services either directly or by contract with a third 
party must ensure that drivers and vehicles meet all Department of Motor Vehicles and 
Department of Transportation requirements. 
 
(h) Drivers must be 18 years of age or older and hold a current valid license to drive the 
class of vehicle they are operating. 
 
(i) Any motor vehicle, other than a public form of transportation, used to transport children in care 
at the school age child care program must have a current registration and inspection sticker. 

 
(j) Parents whose children receive transportation services must receive, at the time of 
enrollment of their children, a copy of the program’s transportation plan. If the plan is 
amended, parents must receive a copy of the amended plan prior to its start date. 
 
(k) No person transporting child care children shall operate a motor vehicle while using a 
mobile phone, or other electronic communication device, including hands-free devices. 
All communications made or received by the driver while the motor vehicle is in use for 
the transportation of child care children must be made from a legally permitted parked 
position off the road. 
 
(l) Child care programs are prohibited from transporting child care children in a vehicle 
built to hold more than 10 passengers, including the driver, unless the vehicle: meets the 
National Highway Traffic Safety Administration definition of a school bus or a 
multifunction school activity bus; complies with the National Highway Traffic Safety 
Administration Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards applicable to a school bus or 
multifunction school activity bus; and is inspected per New York State Department of 
Transportation rules and regulations. 

 
414.7 Program Requirements 
 

(a) A written daily schedule of program activities and routines is required. 
 

(1) The program must establish and implement a written daily schedule of an 
organized, informal and nonscholastic program activities appropriate to the age, 
needs and interests of the children, including children with disabilities. There 
must be physical activity, appropriate to the ages of the children in care, every 
day. 

 
(b) Children must receive instruction, consistent with their age, needs and 
circumstances, in techniques and procedures which will enable them to protect 
themselves from abuse and maltreatment. 
 
(c) The program must make a sufficient quantity and variety of materials and play 
equipment available to the children. Such materials and equipment must be appropriate 
to the ages of the children and their developmental levels and interests, including 
children with developmental delays or disabilities, and promote the children's cognitive, 
educational, social, cultural, physical, emotional, language and recreational 
development. 
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(d) Children may not spend the majority of their program time in rooms used solely for 
activities where children will be seated while working on a particular activity or skill. 
 
(e) Children must be provided an opportunity to choose between quiet activities and 
active play. 
 
(f) Children must be provided with a program of self-initiated, group-initiated and staff-
initiated activities which are intellectually stimulating, and foster self-reliance and social 
responsibility. 
 
(g) Program activities which offer reasonable regularity in routines, including snack and 
meal periods, quiet activities and active play, and activities which provide children with 
opportunities for learning and self-expression is required. 
 
(h) If television or other electronic visual media is used, it must be part of a planned 
developmentally appropriate program with an educational, social, physical or other 
learning objective that includes identified goals and objectives.  Television and other 
electronic visual media must not be used solely to occupy time. 
 

(1) Television and other electronic visual media must be turned off when not part 
of a planned developmentally appropriate program activity. 

 
(2) Children must not watch television or other electronic visual media during 
meals. 
 
(3) Children’s exposure to age and developmentally appropriate television and 
other screen time activities must be balanced with other program components 
that engage children in active physical, intellectual and creative activities. 

 
(i) At the time of the child’s admission to the program, the program must furnish parents 
with appropriate instructional materials that will assist them in evaluating the program, 
and its staff. Such materials must include information concerning child abuse and 
maltreatment, and guidance on the steps the parent may take if they suspect their child 
has been abused or maltreated. 
 
(j) The program must offer information about other community resources to families 
when they are in need of supportive social services not otherwise provided by the 
school age child care program. 

 
414.8 Supervision of Children 
 

(a) Children cannot be left without competent direct supervision at any time. Competent 
supervision includes awareness of and responsibility for the ongoing activity of each 
child.  It requires that all children be within a teacher’s range of vision and that the  
teacher be near enough to respond when redirection or intervention strategies are 
needed.  Competent supervision must take into account the child’s age emotional, 
physical, and cognitive development.  
 
(b) School-age child care programs must employ staff who will promote the physical, 
intellectual, social, cultural and emotional well-being of the children. 
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(c) The school-age child care program must provide supervision of the staff responsible 
for the care of children. Workloads and assignments must be arranged to provide 
consistency of care to children and to allow staff to fulfill their respective responsibilities. 
 
(d) No person under 18 years of age may be left alone to supervise a group of children 
at any time, including in an emergency. 
 
(e) A group teacher, meeting the qualifications of section 414.13, is required for every 
group of children. 
 
(f) An additional group teacher or an assistant teacher is required when the number of 
children in the group dictate that a second teacher be present to meet the teacher/child 
ratio.  
 
(g) Whenever the school-age child care program is in operation and the director is away 
from the premises, there must be a staff person to act on behalf of the director, who is 
knowledgeable about the programs operation and policies. 
 
(h) A staff person who is qualified to perform the duties of an absent staff member must 
be provided when needed to comply with the applicable teacher/child ratios. 
 
(i) In other than emergency situations such as illness or accident, parents must be 
notified in writing 2 weeks prior to any long-term absence of the teachers. This notice 
must include specific start and end dates of the absence and who will be taking the 
teacher’s place in the day care program. 
 
(j) When a school-age child care program is in operation, an adequate number of 
qualified staff must be on duty to protect the health and safety of the children in care.  
 

Minimum Supervision Ratios Based on Group Size 

AGE OF CHILDREN  

 
 

TEACHER/CHILD MAXIMUM RATIO 

MAXIMUM  
GROUP SIZE 

through 9 years 1:10 20 

10-12 years 1:15 30 

 
(k) The supervision ratios are as follows:  

 
(1) for a child of school-age through the age of nine years old: 

 
(i)  there must be one teacher for every ten children; 

 
(ii) the maximum group size is twenty children. 

 
(2) for children between the ages of ten years old and twelve years old: 

 
(i)  there must be one teacher for every fifteen children; 

 
(ii) the maximum group size is thirty children.
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(l) Group size and mixing different age children within groups.  

 
(1) Group size refers to the number of children cared for together as a unit. 
Group size is used to determine the minimum teacher/child ratio based upon 
the age of the children in the group.  

 
(2) Group size must be maintained in common areas of the building and 
grounds.   
 
(3) Groups of children may not be mixed together to use outdoor play areas, 
exercise areas, gym rooms or other common areas of the center unless, the 
space is large enough to accommodate multiple groups which must be kept 
separate. 
 
(4) When a school-age child care program cares for children in groups including 
children both over and under 10 years of age, the teacher/child ratio used must 
be that ratio applicable to the youngest child in the group. 

 
(m) There must be a director, group teacher or assistant teacher supervising all 
applicants, volunteers and persons in the process of approval. 

 
(n) The use of any type device for social or entertainment purposes, listening to music 
on headphones, playing screen games, using the internet, or making personal calls 
while supervising children is prohibited. The use of mobile phones is permitted as 
necessary to promote the children’s safety and ensuring the orderly operation of the 
program.  
 
(o)  The director must approve all plans for field trips, including the type of activity, 
development needs of children and whether there is the need for additional staff to 
provide adequate supervision.  Such plans must take into consideration the 
developmental needs of the children. 
 
(p) Releasing children from care. 

 
(1) No child can be released from the school-age child care program to any 
person other than his or her parent(s), person currently designated in writing by 
such parent to receive the child, or any other person authorized by law to take 
custody of a child.  
 
(2) No child can be released from the school-age child care program 
unsupervised except upon written permission of the child's parent. Such  
permission must be acceptable to the school-age child care program and should 
take into consideration such factors as the child's age and maturity, proximity to 
his or her home, and safety of the neighborhood. 
 
(3) When transportation is provided as a service by the program, no child can be 
released from the day care program directly to the child’s home or other 
destination without first verifying that the parent or person(s) designated by the 
parent to receive the child is present at that destination to receive the child. 
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(q) Visitor control procedures. 
 

(1) Each school-age child care program shall require any and all visitors to the 
facility to: 

 
(i) sign in upon entry to the premises; 

 
(ii) indicate in writing the date of the visit and the time of entry to the 
facility; 
 
(iii) clearly state in writing the purpose of the visit; and 
 
(iv) sign out upon departure from the facility indicating in writing the time 
of departure. 

 
(2) Each school-age child care program shall establish written rules and policies 
as are necessary to provide for monitoring and control of visitors to protect the 
health, safety and welfare of children in care.  

 
(r) A teacher must accompany children to the bathroom whenever the bathroom used by 
the children in care is also available to the public or shared by multiple parties using the 
facility. 
  
(s) When bathrooms are exclusively used by the children at the school age child care 
program, children may go to the bathroom independently under the following 
circumstances: 

 
(1) the bathroom entrance is within sight of the child care space or activity area 
being used at the time the child asks to use the bathroom; and 
 
(2) the child has permission from the teacher; and 
 
(3) a plan is followed that allows one child at a time to use the bathroom; and  
 
(4) there is a plan followed that requires a teacher to be mindful of the time 
elapsing since the child left to use the bathroom; and 
 
(5) that a teacher locate the child using the bathroom, if that child does not return 
to the group after a reasonable time period has elapsed. 
 

414.9 Behavior Management 
 

(a)The program must establish and follow a written plan for behavior management that 
is acceptable to the office. This plan must include how the staff will approach 
challenging behaviors, help children solve problems and encourage acceptable 
behaviors. 

 
(b) The staff must use acceptable techniques and approaches to help children solve 
problems. 
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(c) The program must provide copies of the behavior management plan to all staff and 
parents of children in care at the school age child care program. 
 
(d) Behavior management must promote self-esteem in children and guide children in 
such a way as to help each child develop self-control and assume responsibility for his 
or her actions through clear and consistent rules and limits appropriate to the ages and 
development of the children in care.  
 
(e) Any discipline used must relate to the child's action and be handled without 
prolonged delay on the part of the staff so that the child is aware of the relationship 
between his or her actions and the consequences of those actions. 
 
(f) Isolating a child in a closet, darkened area, or any area where the child cannot be 
seen and supervised by a staff member is prohibited. 
 
(g) Where a child's behavior harms or is likely to result in harm to the child, others or 
property, or seriously disrupts or is likely to seriously disrupt group interaction, the child 
may be separated briefly from the group, but only for as long as is necessary for the 
child to regain enough self-control to rejoin the group. The child must be placed in an 
area where he or she is in the view of, and can be supervised and supported by, a staff 
member. Interaction between a staff member and the child must take place 
immediately following the separation to guide the child toward appropriate group 
behavior. Separation of a child from the group in a manner other than that provided for 
herein is prohibited. 
 
(h) Physical restraint is prohibited. Physical restraint is the act of using force to extremely 
limit a child’s body movements for a lengthy period of time.  It involves holding a child 
against his/her will and putting pressure on the child’s chest and/or extremities in an 
effort to significantly restrict his/her movement, thereby making it extremely difficult for a 
child to move.   It may also involve holding a child flat on the ground and restricting 
his/her body from movement.     
 
(i) Physical intervention is permitted. Physical intervention is the act of using bodily 
contact as a short-term immediate response to prevent children from incurring 
substantial or serious injury to themselves or injuring others.  It may involve:  picking a 
child up and moving him or her away from danger or conflict, holding the child’s hands 
or gently touching the body to direct their movement, rocking a child to soothe them, 
blocking a child’s path when they are about to injure themselves or others or destroy 
property. This technique allows the child to regain self-control as quickly and safely as 
possible.  A consultation with a child’s parent is required if the child is not receptive to 
physical intervention.  
 
(j) Corporal punishment is prohibited. For the purposes of this part, the term corporal 
punishment means punishment inflicted directly on the body including, but not limited 
to, physical restraint, spanking, biting, shaking, slapping, twisting or squeezing; 
demanding excessive physical exercise, prolonged lack of movement or motion, or 
strenuous or bizarre postures; and compelling a child to eat or have in the child's mouth 
soap, foods, hot spices, irritants or the like. 
 
(k) Withholding or using food, or rest as a punishment is prohibited. 
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(l) A child may only be disciplined by a director, group teacher or assistant teacher.  
 
(m) Methods of discipline or interaction which frighten, demean or humiliate a child are 
prohibited. 

 
414.10 Child abuse and Maltreatment 
 

(a) Any abuse or maltreatment of a child is prohibited. A school-age child care program 
must prohibit and may not tolerate or in any manner condone an act of abuse or 
maltreatment by a staff, volunteer or any other person. An abused child or maltreated 
child means a child defined as an abused child or maltreated child pursuant to section 
412 of the Social Services Law. 
 
(b) Screening requirements for school-age child care programs registered with the Office 
are as follows: 

 
(1)  Statewide Central Register of Child Abuse and Maltreatment and Justice 
Center for the Protection of Persons with Special Needs 
 

(i) School-age child care programs must submit to the Office the 
information necessary to inquire of the Statewide Central Register of 
Child Abuse and Maltreatment whether any prospective operator, 
director, employee or volunteer, is the subject of an indicated report of 
child abuse or maltreatment on file with the Statewide Central Register of 
Child Abuse and Maltreatment. In accordance with a schedule developed 
by the Office, the Office must inquire whether any existing operator, 
director, employee or volunteer is the subject of an indicated report of 
child abuse or maltreatment on file with the Statewide Central Register of 
Child Abuse and Maltreatment. 

 
(ii) School-age child care programs must submit to the Office the 
information necessary to check the register of substantiated category one 
cases of abuse or neglect maintained by the Justice Center for the 
Protection of Persons with Special Needs per Section 495 of the Social 
Services Law before determining whether to hire or otherwise allow any 
person as a prospective operator, director, employee, or volunteer. 
 

(2) Prior to the Office making any inquiries pursuant to section 414.10(b)(1), the 
school-age child care program must notify, in the form prescribed by the Office, 
the person who will be the subject of the inquiries, that: 

 
(i) an inquiry will be made to determine whether such person is the 
subject of an indicated report of child abuse or maltreatment on file with 
the Statewide Central Register of Child Abuse and Maltreatment, and 

 
(ii) an inquiry will be made to determine whether such person is listed on 
the register of substantiated category one cases of abuse or neglect 
maintained by the Justice Center for the Protection of Persons with 
Special Needs per Section 495 of the Social Services Law. 
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(3) After completion of required inquiries as provided for in this section and all 
other criminal history review and background clearances as provided for in 
section 413.4 of this Title, the Office shall notify the applicant and program 
whether the applicant is authorized or unauthorized to care for children based on 
the outcome of such inquiries.  
  

(c) In accordance with the provisions of sections 413 and 415 of the Social Services 
Law, school-age child care program staff must immediately report any suspected 
incidents of child abuse or maltreatment concerning a child receiving child care to the 
Statewide Central Register of Child Abuse and Maltreatment or cause such a report to 
be made when such staff have reasonable cause to suspect that a child coming before 
them in their capacity as school-age child care program workers is an abused or 
maltreated child. This must be done in the following manner: 

 
(1) school age child care program staff must personally make, or cause to be 
made, an immediate report to the Statewide Central Register of Child Abuse 
and Maltreatment by telephone, followed by a written report within 48 hours, in 
the form and manner prescribed by the Office, to the child protective service of 
the social services district in the county in which the child resides.  
 
(2) After making the initial report, the reporting staff person must immediately 
notify the director or registrant of the school age child care program that the 
report was made.  

 
(d) The director or registrant of the school-age child care program is responsible for 
implementing procedures which ensure the safety and protection of any child named in a 
report of child abuse or maltreatment involving a situation which occurs while the child is 
in attendance at the program. Immediately after making or causing to be made a report 
pursuant to section 414.10(c), the director or registrant of the program must take such 
appropriate action as is necessary to ensure the health and safety of the children 
involved in the report and, as necessary, of any other children in the care of the 
program. The director or registrant must also take all reasonable steps to preserve any 
potential evidence of abuse or maltreatment. Insofar as possible, any action taken under 
this subdivision must cause as little disruption as possible to the daily routine of the 
children in the program. 
 
(e) In meeting his or her responsibilities pursuant to section 414.10, the director or 
registrant of the school-age child care program may, consistent with any appropriate 
collective bargaining agreements or applicable provisions of law, take one or more of the 
following actions with regard to staff of the program relevant to a report of child abuse or 
maltreatment involving a child while in attendance at the program: 

 
(1) dismissal, suspension or transfer of any staff, volunteer or other person who 
is the subject of a child abuse or maltreatment report; 
 
(2) increased supervision over a person who is the subject of a report; 
 
(3) provision of instruction and/or remedial counseling to a person who is the 
subject of a report; 
 
(4) initiation of appropriate disciplinary action where applicable; and/or
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(5) provision of appropriate training to and/or increased supervision of staff 
and/or volunteers pertinent to the prevention and remediation of child abuse and 
maltreatment. 

 
414.11 Health and Infection Control 
 

(a) Child Enrollment Requirements. 
 

 (1) The program must obtain an individual health plan for any child identified as 
a child with special health care needs, prior to the child being in attendance at 
the program.   
 

(i) A child’s individual health care plan must provide all information 
needed to safely care for the child.  

 
(ii) A child’s individual health care plan must be developed with the child’s 
parent and health care provider. 

 
(b) Staff and Volunteers Health Requirements. 

 
(1) Staff and volunteers must each submit a medical statement on forms 
furnished by the Office or an approved equivalent from a health care provider: 

 
(i) at the time of initial school age child care program application; 

 
(ii) before such person has any involvement in child care work. 

 
(2) Thereafter a medical statement will be required when an event or condition 
reasonably calls into question a staff person’s ability to provide safe and suitable 
child care. 
 
(3) Initial medical statements sent in with the application or as a result of a new 

hire must be dated within 12 months preceding the date of application or 
hiring date. 
 

(4) The medical statement must give satisfactory evidence that the individual is 
physically fit to provide child day care and has no diagnosed psychiatric or 
emotional disorder which would preclude such individual from providing child day 
care. 
 
(5)  All staff and volunteers must be free from communicable disease unless 
his/her health care provider has indicated that the presence of the communicable 
disease does not pose a risk to the health and safety of the children in care.  
 
(6) The initial medical statement for staff and volunteers must include the results 
of a Mantoux tuberculin test or other federally approved tuberculin test performed 
within the 12 months preceding the date of the application.   
 
(7) After the initial medical statement, tuberculin tests are only required at the 
discretion of the staff person’s or volunteer’s health care provider or at the start of 
new employment.
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(8) Consumption of, or being under the influence of alcohol by any staff person or 
volunteer is prohibited during child day care hours.  
 
(9) Consumption of or being under the influence of an illegal drug by any staff 
person or volunteer is prohibited during child day care hours.  
 
 (10) Consumption of or being under the influences of a controlled substance by 
any staff person or volunteer is prohibited during day care hours, unless the 
controlled substance is prescribed by a health care provider is being taken as 
directed, and does not interfere with the person’s ability to perform his or her 
child day care functions.   
 
(11) Smoking in indoor or outdoor areas in use by children and in vehicles when 
children are occupying the vehicles is prohibited. 
 
(12) The director and all teachers must have knowledge of and access to 
children’s individual health records and all emergency information. 
 
(13) Staff must be aware of each child’s special health care needs identified in 
the child’s individual health care plan. This includes, but is not limited to, 
allergies, disabilities and medical conditions. 
 
(14) Staff must obtain assistance as identified in the child’s individual health care 
plan if the child has a medical emergency. 

 
(c) The Health Care Plan. 

 
(1) The registrant must prepare a health care plan on forms furnished by the 
Office.  Such plan must protect and promote the health of children. The health 
care plan must be on site, followed by all staff and available upon demand by a 
parent or the Office. In those instances in which the program will administer 
medications, the health care plan must also be approved by the program's health 
care consultant unless the only medications to be administered are: 
 

(i) over-the-counter topical ointments, lotions and creams, sprays, 
including sunscreen products and topically applied insect repellant; and/or 
 
(ii) epinephrine auto injectors, diphenhydramine in combination with the 
auto injector, asthma inhalers and nebulizers. 

 
(2) The health care plan must describe the following: 

 
(i) how a daily health check of each child for any indication of illness, 
injury, abuse or maltreatment will be conducted and documented; 
 
(ii) how a record of each child's illnesses, injuries and signs of suspected 
abuse or maltreatment will be maintained; 
 
(iii) how professional assistance will be obtained in emergencies; 
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(iv) the advance arrangements for the care of any child who has or 
develops symptoms of illness or is injured, including notifying the child's 
parent; 
 
(v) which designated staff will be administering medication. The plan must 
state that only a trained, designated staff may administer medications to 
children, except in those programs in which the only administration of 
medications offered will be the administration of over-the-counter topical 
ointments, lotions, creams, and sprays including sunscreen products and 
topically applied insect repellant.  
 
(vi) the contents of the first aid kit; 
 
(vii) that the trained designated staff person may only administer 
medications to children if the designated staff person is: 

 
(a) at least 18 years of age, 

 
(b) possesses a current certification in first aid and cardio-
pulmonary resuscitation (CPR) appropriate to the ages of the 
children in care,  
 
(c) and has completed the Medication Administration Training 

(MAT) pursuant to subdivision (e) of this section or, in the case of 

administering patient-specific epinephrine auto-injectors, 

Diphenhydramine in combination with the auto-injector, asthma 

inhalers and nebulizers, has received training on its use from the 

parent, health care provider or a health care consultant;  

(viii) the designation of the health care consultant of record for programs, 
as indicated in paragraph (1) of this subdivision; 
 
(ix) When a health care consultant is required to approve a health care 
plan, the schedule of visits by a health care consultant to programs 
administering medications must occur at least once every year and must 
include a review of the health care policies and procedures and a review 
of the documentation; 
 
(x) guidelines and procedures to be followed for the prevention of 
anaphylaxis and during a medical emergency resulting from anaphylaxis 
that comply with the anaphylactic policy for child day care providers jointly 
issued by the Office and the New York State Department of Health; and  
 
(xi) For programs that will stock epinephrine auto-injectors, the plan must 
also designate one or more staff who will be responsible for the storage, 
maintenance, control and general oversight of any stock epinephrine 
auto-injectors acquired by the registrant. The plan must also state that 
staff may only use stock epinephrine auto-injectors, without a patient-
specific prescription, after successfully completing a training course 
pursuant to subparagraph (i) of paragraph (8) of subdivision (h) of this
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section or if directed in a specific instance to use such device by a health 
care practitioner.  

 
(d) Health Care Consultant. 

 
(1) Programs must demonstrate to the health care consultant how medications 
are administered in the program.  A program is not required to schedule a visit 
with a health care consultant or include a schedule of visits by a health care 
consultant in their health care plan when: 

 
(i) only over-the-counter topical ointments, lotions, creams and sprays, 
including sunscreen products and topically applied insect repellant are 
administered; and/or 
 
(ii) epinephrine auto injectors, diphenhydramine in combination with the 
auto injector, and asthma inhalers and nebulizers are the only 
medications administered in the program.  

 
(2) Should the health care consultant determine, after a visit to the day care 
program, that the approved health care plan is not being reasonably followed by 
the program, the health care consultant may revoke his or her approval of the 
plan. If the health care consultant revokes his or her approval of the health care 
plan, the health care consultant must immediately notify the registrant and the 
registrant must immediately notify the Office, no longer than 24 hours later. In 
that instance, the health care consultant may also notify the Office directly if he or 
she so desires.  
 
(3) A program authorized to administer medications, which has had the 
authorization to administer medications revoked, or otherwise loses the ability to  
administer medications, must advise the parent of every child in care before the 
next day the program operates that the program no longer has the ability to 
administer medications. 
 
(4) A program, whose health care consultant terminates his or her relationship 
with the program, will be granted a 60 day grace period to hire another health 
care consultant, obtain approval of a health care plan from the new health care 
consultant and submit the plan to the office without the child care program losing 
the ability to administer medications as long as: 

 
(i) the former health care consultant did not revoke his or her approval 
prior to terminating the relationship with the child care program; 
 
(ii) Staff who have been trained in medication administration are available 
to continue administration of medications as per the health care plan; 
 
(iii) the child care program follows the approved health care plan, as 
currently written, for the 60-day period; 
 
(iv) the child care program notifies the Office, within 24 hours, of the 
termination of the relationship with the health care consultant; and 
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(v) the child care program has the newly hired health care consultant 
review and approve the health care plan and sends the signed approved 
health care plan to the Office before the sixty-day window expires.  
 

(5) Once the sixty-day period has expired if no health care plan approval is 
issued, the child care program will be issued a new registration, which will state 
that it is no longer able to administer medications other than over-the-counter 
topical medications and emergency medications.  

 
(e) Training for the Administration of Medications. 

 
(1) All staff, except those excluded pursuant to this section, who have agreed to 
administer medication must complete the Office-approved Medication 
Administration Training (MAT) or an Office-approved equivalent before 
administering medications to children in day care. The certification of training in 
the administration of medications to children in day care shall be effective for a 
period of three-years from the date of issuance. The staff person must complete 
a recertification training approved by the Office in order to extend the certification 
for each additional three year period. Where a certification lapses, the staff 
person may not be recertified unless the staff person completes the initial (MAT) 
or the recertification training, as required by the Office. Where enforcement 
action has been taken against the registrant based on a failure by the program to 
comply with requirements for the administration of medications set forth in this 
section, the Office may require retraining or may prohibit a staff person from 
being involved in the administration of medications. 
 
(2) Staff who will be responsible for administering medications must receive 
training in the methods of administering medications prior to administering any  
medications in a child day care setting.  Upon completion of the training, the staff 
person must receive a written certificate from the trainer that indicates that the 
trainee has successfully completed this training program, as required, and 
demonstrated competency in the administration of medications in a day care 
setting. 

 
(i)  In order to be trained in the administration of medications in a day care 
setting, a staff person must be literate in the language or languages in 
which health care instructions from parents and health care providers will 
be received. 
 
(ii) Persons who receive training in the administration of medications in 
day care settings pursuant to this section may not otherwise administer 
medications or represent themselves as being able to administer 
medications except to the extent such persons may be able to do so in 
accordance with the relevant provisions of the Education Law. 
 

(3) The training in the administration of medications must be provided by a health 
care provider or registered nurse who has been certified by the office to 
administer the office approved curriculum. 
 
(4) The training must be documented and must include, but need not be limited 
to the following:  
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(i) Training objectives; 
 

(ii) a description of the methods of administration including principles and 
techniques of application and dispensation of oral, topical, medication 
patches and inhalant medication, including the use of nebulizers, and the 
use of epinephrine auto-injector devices when necessary to prevent 
anaphylaxis in emergency situations with respect to the various age 
groups of children; 
 
(iii) administering medication to an uncooperative child; 
 
(iv) an evaluation of whether the trainee demonstrates competency in: 

 
(a) understanding orders from the health care professional or 
licensed authorized prescriber; 
 
(b) the ability to correctly carry out the orders given by the health 
care provider or licensed authorized prescriber; 
 
(c) recognition of common side effects of medications and ability 
to follow written directions regarding appropriate follow-up action; 
 
(d) avoidance of medication errors and what action to take if an 
error occurs; 
 
(e) understanding relevant commonly used abbreviations; 
 
 (f) maintaining required documentation including the parent’s 
permission, written orders from health care professionals and 
licensed authorized prescribers, and the record of administration 
of medications; 
 
(g) safe handling of medications, including receiving medications 
from a parent  
 
(h) proper storage of medications, including controlled 
substances; and 
 
(i) safe disposal of medications. 

 
(5) A person who can produce a valid New York State license as a physician, 
physician's assistant, registered nurse, nurse practitioner, licensed practical 
nurse or advanced emergency medical technician will not be required to attend 
the training required by section 414.11(e) of this Part in order to administer 
medications in a day care program. Documentation establishing the person's 
credentials in one of the above fields will be required and a copy of the 
documentation must be provided to the Office. 

 
(f) Administration of Medication. 

 
(1) Staff may administer medication only in accordance with the following:
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(i) All programs that choose to administer medications other than 
epinephrine auto injectors, diphenhydramine in combination with the auto 
injector, asthma inhalers and nebulizers, topical ointments, lotions, 
creams and sprays to children must have a health care consultant of 
record and must address the administration of medications in the health 
care plan in accordance with the requirements of section 414.11 of this 
Part.  
 
(ii) The program must confer with a health care consultant regarding the 
program's policies and procedures related to the administration of 
medications. This consultation must include a review of the 
documentation that all staff authorized to administer medications have the 
necessary professional license or have completed the necessary training. 
 
(iii) Policies regarding the administration of medications must be 
explained to the parent at the time of enrollment of the child in care and 
when substantive changes are made thereafter. Parents must be made 
familiar with the policies of the day care program relevant to the 
administration of medications. 
 
(iv) Nothing in section 414.11 shall be deemed to require any program to 
administer any medication, treatment, or other remedy except to the 
extent that such medication, treatment or remedy is required under the 
provisions of the Americans with Disabilities Act. 
 
 (v) Nothing in Part 414 shall be deemed to prevent a parent, or relative 
within the third degree of consanguinity of the parents or step-parents of a 
child, even if such a person is a staff person or volunteer of the program, 
from administering medications to a child while the child is attending the 
program even if the registrant has chosen not to administer medications 
or if the staff designated to administer medications is not present when 
the child receives the medication.  

 
(2) If the registrant elects not to administer medications, the program must still 
document the dosages and time as per section 414.11(f)(9) of this Part that the 
medications were given to the child by the child's parent, or relative within the 
third degree of consanguinity of the parents or step-parents of the child.  

 
(i) Relatives within the third degree of consanguinity administering 
medications to the child in day care must be at least 18 years of age, 
unless that relative is the parent of the child. 
 
(ii) If the only administration of medication in a day care program is done 
by a parent, or relative within the third degree of consanguinity of the 
parents or step-parents of a child, the staff of the program do not have to 
complete the administration of medication training requirements pursuant 
to section 414.11(e).  
 

(3) No child in care will be allowed to independently administer medications, 
except for those medications administered pursuant to section 414.11(h)(6) of 
this Part, without the assistance and direct supervision of staff who are 
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authorized to administer medications pursuant to section 414.11 of this Part. Any 
program that elects to offer the administration of medication to children when 
children who attend the program independently administer medications or when 
children assist in the administration of their own medications must comply with all 
the provisions of section 414.11 of this Part.   
 
(4) Staff may administer prescription and non-prescription (over-the-counter) 
medications for eyes or ears, oral medications, topical ointments, creams, 
lotions, sprays and medication patches and inhaled medications in accordance 
with section 414.11 of this Part.  
 
(5) Staff may not administer medications by injection, vaginally or rectally except 
as follows: 

 
(i) where the staff person has been certified to administer medications in 
a day care setting and the parent and the child's health care provider 
have indicated such treatment is appropriate and received instruction on 
the administration of the medication; or 
 
(ii) for a child with special health care needs, where the parent, day care 
program and the child's health care provider have agreed on a plan 
pursuant to which the staff may administer medications by injection, 
vaginally or rectally; or 
 
 (iii) where the staff person has a valid license as a physician, physician's 
assistant, registered nurse, nurse practitioner, licensed practical nurse or 
advanced emergency medical technician. 

 
(6) Staff authorized to administer medication who agree to administer 
medications to a child must do so, unless they observe the circumstances, if any, 
specified by the health care provider or the medication label, under which the 
medication must not be administered. In such instances, the program must 
contact the parent immediately. 
 
(7) Permissions needed from parent and/or health care provider in order to 
administer medications. 

 
(i) Over-the-counter products, including but not limited to over-the-counter 
topical ointments, lotions, creams, sprays, including sunscreen products 
and topically applied insect repellant can be administered by the program 
for one day only, with verbal permission of the parent.  If an over-the-
counter product is to be administered on a subsequent day or an ongoing 
basis, written permission from the parent must have been provided to the 
program. 
 
(ii) Prescription medications, oral over-the-counter medications, 
medicated patches, and eye, ear, or nasal drops or sprays, can be 
administered by the program for one day only, with the verbal permission 
of the parent. If prescription medications, oral over-the-counter 
medications, medicated patches, and eye, ear, or nasal drops or sprays 
are to be administered on a subsequent day or an ongoing basis, written 
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permission from the parent and written instructions from the health care 
provider must have been provided to the program prior to such 
administration. 
 
(iii) A staff person cannot administer medication to any child in care, if the 
parent’s instructions differ from the instructions on the medication’s 
packaging, until the program receives permission from a health care 
provider or licensed authorized prescriber on how to administer the 
medication. 
 
(iv) The program must immediately notify the parent if the program will not 
administer medication due to differing instructions related to the 
administration of medication. 
 

(8) Staff who are authorized to administer medications must administer 
medication as follows: 

 
(i) to the right child, 
 
(ii) at the right dose, 
 
(iii) at the right time, 
 
(iv) with the right medication, and 

 
(v) through the right route, 

 
(9) Documentation of Medication Administration 
 
 (i) At the time of administration, the staff person must document the 

dosages and time that the medications are given to the child.  
 

(ii) All observable side effects must be documented and communicated to 
the parent, and when appropriate, the child's health care provider.   
 
(iii) Documentation must be made if the medication was not given and the 
reason for such a decision.   

 
(10) The parent must be notified immediately and the Office must be notified 
within 24 hours of any medication administration errors. Notification to the Office 
must be reported on a form provided by the Office or on an approved equivalent. 

 
(11) All verbal permissions received pursuant to Section 414.11(f) of this Part 
must be documented.  
 
(12) Staff who are authorized to administer medications must be literate in the 
language for which the permissions and instructions for use are written.    
 
(13) Medication must be returned to the parent or guardian when it is no longer 
required by the child or, with the permission of the parent or guardian, be 
properly disposed of by the program.



414.11(f)(14)  414.11(f)(20) 

New York State Child Day Care Regulations (Effective October 13, 2021) ♦ Part 414: School-Age Child Care 
Page 33 

(14) Where the program has received written permission of the parent and 
written instructions from the health care provider authorizing administration of a 
specified medication if the staff person observes some specified condition or 
change of condition in the child while the child is in care, the staff person may 
administer the specified medication, without obtaining additional authorization 
from the parent or health care provider. 
 
(15) Prescription and over-the-counter medications must be kept in their original 
bottles or containers.  
 
(16) Prescription medication labels must include the following information or be 
available through the licensed authorized prescriber on the form provided by the 
Office or equivalent form: 

 
(i) Child's first and last name for patient-specific prescriptions; 

 
(ii) Licensed authorized prescriber's name, telephone number, and 
signature; 
 
(iii) Date authorized; 
 
(iv) Name of medication and dosage; 
 
(v) Frequency the medication is to be administered; 
 
(vi) Method of administration; 
 
(vii) Reason for medication (unless this information must remain 
confidential pursuant to law); 
 
(viii) Most common side effects or reactions; and 
 
(ix) Special instructions or considerations, including but not limited to 
possible interactions with other medications the child is receiving, or 
concerns regarding the use of the medication as it relates to a child's age, 
allergies, or any pre-existing conditions. 

 
(17) Medications must be kept in a clean area that is inaccessible to children. 
 
(18) If refrigeration is required, the medication must be stored in either a separate 
refrigerator or a leak-proof container in a designated area of a food storage 
refrigerator, separated from food and inaccessible to children. 
 
(19) Day care programs must comply with all Federal and State requirements for 
the storage and disposal of all types of medications, including controlled 
substances. 
 
(20) In the case of medication that needs to be given on an ongoing, long-term 
basis, the authorization and consent forms for children must be reauthorized at 
least once every 12 months.  Any changes in the medication authorization 
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related to dosage, time or frequency of administration shall require a program to 
obtain new instructions written by the licensed authorized prescriber. All other 
changes to the original medication authorization require a change in the 
prescription. 

 
(g) Stocking medications. 

 
(1)  A child care program may keep a supply of over-the-counter medications at a 
program site to be used in the event that a child in the program develops 
symptoms while in care that indicate the need for over-the-counter medication.  
 
(2) Child care programs that store and administer medication that is not labeled 
for a specific child must have an over-the-counter stock medication policy in 
place before beginning to store any over-the-counter medications. The over-the-
counter stock medication’s policy must address the safe storage and proper 
administration of the stored over-the-counter medication and must address the 
need for strict infection control practices as they pertain to stock medication.   
 
(3) Stock medication must be kept in a clean area that is inaccessible to children 
and any stock medication must be stored separate from child specific medication. 
 
(4) Stock medications must be kept in the original container and have the 
following information on the label or in the package insert:   

 
(i) Name of the medication, 

 
(ii) Reasons for use, 
 
(iii) Directions for use, including route of administration, 
 
(iv) Dosage instructions, 
 
(v) Possible side effects and/or adverse reactions, 
 
(vi) Warnings or conditions under which it is inadvisable to administer the 
medication, and  
 
(vii) Expiration date. 

 
(5) Child care programs that stock supplies of over-the-counter medication, which 
are not in single dose packaging, must provide a separate mechanism to 
administer the medication for each child that may need the medication. Once a 
device has been used for a specific child in care, that specific device must be 
disposed of or reused only for that specific child and must be labeled with the 
child’s first and last name. The program must include the procedure in the over-
the-counter stock medication policy for dispensing the stock medication from the 
container to the device, or directly administering to the child, without 
contaminating the stock medication.  
 
(6) All stock medication must be administered using best practice techniques in 
accordance with the directions for use on the medication package.
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(7) School-age child care programs may not stock prescription medication, 
except for epinephrine auto-injectors to be used for emergency treatment of a 
child appearing to experience anaphylactic symptoms, provided that the program 
complies with the requirements set forth in sections 414.11(c)(2)(xi) and 
414.11(h)(8) of this Part. 

 
(h) Emergency care and the Administration of Epinephrine, Diphenhydramine in 
combination with the auto injector, Asthma inhalers and Nebulizers. 

 
(1) The program must immediately call 911 for children who require emergency 
medical care and also must: 

 
(i) obtain written consent at the time of admission from the parent which 
authorizes the program to obtain emergency health care for the child; 
 
(ii) arrange for the transportation of any child in need of emergency health 
care, and for the supervision of the children remaining in the program;  
 
(iii) in the event of an accident or illness requiring immediate health care, 
secure such care and notify the parent; and 
 
(iv) advise a parent or the person authorized to pick up the child that day, 
of any developing symptoms of illness or minor injury sustained while 
child is in care. 

 
(2) The school age child care program must be equipped with a portable first aid 
kit which is accessible for emergency treatment. The first aid kit must be stocked 
to treat a broad range of injuries and situations and must be restocked as 
necessary. The first aid kit and any other first aid supplies must be kept in a 
clean, covered container or cabinet inaccessible to children. 

 
(3) Rectal thermometers may not be used. 
 
(4) The program must provide a child who has or develops symptoms of illness a 
place to rest quietly that is in the view of, and under the supervision of a staff 
person until the child receives medical care or the parent or approved parental 
designee arrives. In the event that a child has or develops symptoms of illness, 
the program is responsible for immediately notifying the parent. 
 
(5) When a program has not been authorized to administer medications in a day 
care setting in accordance with the requirements of subdivision (f) of this section, 
a designated staff may administer emergency care through the use of patient-
specific epinephrine auto-injectors, Diphenhydramine, when prescribed in 
combination with the auto-injector, asthma inhalers and asthma nebulizers when 
necessary to prevent anaphylaxis or breathing difficulty for an individual child, but 
only when the parent and the child's health care provider have indicated such 
treatment is appropriate. In addition: 

 
(i) A written Individual Health Care Plan must be developed for the child;  
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(ii) The child’s health care provider must issue a standing order and 
prescription for the medication;  
 
(iii) The parent must approve, in writing, the administration of the 
medication as prescribed by the health care provider and keep 
medications current;  
 
(iv) All staff administering an emergency medication pursuant to section 
414.11(h)(5) of this Part, must be instructed on its use; and, the 
instruction must be provided by the parent, the child’s health care 
provider or a health care consultant;  
 
(v) Staff who have been instructed on the use of the auto-injector, 
Diphenhydramine, inhaler or nebulizer must be present during all hours 
the child with the potential emergency condition is in care; 
 
(vi) The staff person administering the auto-injector, Diphenhydramine, 
asthma medication or nebulizer must be at least 18-years-old;   
 
(vii) The program must immediately contact 911 after administration of 
epinephrine;  
 
(viii) If an inhaler or nebulizer for asthma is administered, the program 
must call 911 if the child’s breathing does not return to its normal 
functioning after its use; and 
 
(ix) Storage, documentation of the administration of medication and 
labeling of the auto-injector, asthma inhaler and asthma nebulizer must 
be in compliance with Section 414.11 of this Part. 

 
(6) When a program is approved to administer an inhaler to a child with asthma 
or other diagnosed respiratory condition, or an epinephrine auto injector for 
anaphylaxis, a school-aged child may carry and use these devices during day 
care hours if the program secures written permission of such use of a duly 
authorized health care provider, parental consent and completes a special health 
care plan for the child.   
 
(7) The special health care plan, parental consent and health care provider 
consent documenting permission for a school-age child to carry an inhaler or 
auto injector must be maintained on file by the program. 
 
(8) A designated staff may use a stock epinephrine auto-injector, without a 
patient-specific prescription, for emergency treatment of a child appearing to 
experience anaphylactic symptoms. In addition: 
 

(i) All staff administering a stock epinephrine auto-injector must have 
successfully completed a training course in the use of epinephrine auto-
injectors conducted by a nationally recognized organization experienced 
in training laypersons in emergency health treatment or an entity or 
person approved by the New York State Department of Health, or be 
directed in a specific instance to use such device by a health care 
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practitioner. This training shall include how to recognize signs and 
symptoms of severe allergic reactions, including anaphylaxis; 
recommended dosage for adults and children; standards and procedures 
for the storage and administration of an epinephrine auto-injector and 
emergency follow-up procedures. 
 
(ii) The staff person administering the epinephrine auto-injector must be 
at least 18-years-old; 
 
(iii) The program must immediately contact 911 after administration of 
epinephrine; and 
 
(iv) Storage, documentation of the administration of medication and 
labeling of the auto-injector must comply with this section. 

 
 

(i) Infection Control. 
 

(1) Staff and volunteers must thoroughly wash their hands with soap and running 
water at the beginning of each day, before and after the administration of 
medications, when they are dirty, after toileting, before and after food handling or 
eating, after handling pets or other animals, after contact with any bodily 
secretion or fluid, and after coming in from outdoors. 
 
(2) Staff and volunteers must ensure that children thoroughly wash their hands or 
assist children with thoroughly washing their hands with soap and running water 
when they are dirty, after toileting, before and after food handling or eating, after 
handling pets or other animals, after contact with any bodily secretion or fluid, 
and after coming in from outdoors.  
 
(3) Staff must assist children in keeping clean and comfortable, and in learning 
appropriate personal hygiene practices.  
 
(4) When soap and running water is not available, hand sanitizer may be used by 
children, staff and volunteers on visibly clean hands. Package directions must be 
followed including supervision of children so that ingestion does not occur.   
 

(i)  When soap and running water is not available and hands are visibly 
soiled, individual wipes may be used in combination with hand sanitizer.   

 
(5) Safety precautions relating to blood must be observed by all staff and 
volunteers as follows: 

 
(i) Disposable gloves must be immediately available and worn whenever 
there is a possibility for contact with blood, including but not limited to: 

 
(a) touching blood or blood-contaminated body fluids; 
 
(b) treating cuts that bleed; and 
 
(c) wiping surfaces stained with blood.
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(ii) In an emergency, a child's well-being must take priority. A bleeding 
child must not be denied care because gloves are not immediately 
available. 
 
(iii) Disposable gloves must be discarded after each use. 
 
(iv) If blood is touched accidentally, the exposed skin must be thoroughly 
washed with soap and running water. 
 
(v) Clothes contaminated with blood must be placed in a securely tied 
plastic bag and returned to the parent at the end of the day. 
 
(vi) Surfaces that have been blood stained must be cleaned and then 
disinfected with an Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) registered 
product that has an EPA registration number on the label. 

 
(6) All rooms, equipment, surfaces, supplies and furnishings accessible to 
children must be cleaned and then sanitized or disinfected, using an EPA 
registered product, as needed to protect the health of children, and in a manner 
consistent with the program’s health care plan approved by the Office.  
 
(7) Equipment that is frequently used or touched by children on a daily basis 
must be cleaned and then sanitized or disinfected, using an EPA registered 
product, when soiled and at least once weekly. 
 
(8) The premises must be kept clean and free from dampness, odors and the 
accumulation of trash.  
 
(9) The premises must be kept free of vermin. 
 
(10) Carpets contaminated with body fluids must be spot cleaned. 
 
(11) Extensive cleaning, such as shampooing carpets or washing windows and 
walls, must occur when children are not present. 
 
(12) Garbage receptacles must be cleaned as needed after emptying. 
 
(13) Thermometers must be washed and disinfected before use by another child. 
 
(14) Individual drinking cups or disposable cups must be provided daily.  Once a 
drinking cup or eating utensils have been used by a child they may not be used 
by another child unless they are washed first. 
 
(15) Between uses, dishes and utensils must be washed with soap and hot water 
and rinsed in hot running water.   
 
(16) Linens, blankets and bedding must be cleaned at least weekly and before 
use by another child. Cots, beds, mats and mattresses must be cleaned 
thoroughly between uses by different children and at least monthly. 
 
(17) Sanitizers and disinfectants must be used as directed on the product label.
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(18) Hygiene and bathroom facilities. 
 

(i) Toilet facilities must be kept clean at all times, and must be supplied 
with toilet paper, soap and towels accessible to the children.  
 
(ii) Air blowers/dryers may be used in place of hand towels where 
available. 
 

(19) Face coverings to prevent the spread of the novel coronavirus identified as 

SARS-CoV-2 or COVID-19. 

(i) Any Individual two years of age or older, who is able to medically 

tolerate a face covering, must wear a face covering when indoors, subject 

to applicable Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) 

standards and recommended exceptions.  

(ii) Any individual who claims that they are unable to medically tolerate a 

face covering must provide medical documentation of such to the Office 

upon demand. 

(iii) The violation of these regulations shall be a basis to deny, limit, 

suspend, revoke, or terminate a license or registration, pursuant to Social 

Services Law § 390 (10) and applicable regulations.  

(j) Pesticide use. 
 

(1) Any application of pesticides (as the term pesticide is defined in section 33-
0101 of the Environmental Conservation Law) shall be completed in accordance 
with the requirements of section 390-c of the Social Services Law and sections 
33-1004 and 33-1005 of the Environmental Conservation Law. 
 
(2) In addition to the requirements of section 390-c of the Social Services Law, 
each day care facility must send a notice home with each child or otherwise 
provide notification to the parent of each child not less than forty-eight hours prior 
to the application of pesticides. Such notice must include: 
 

(i) the location and specific date of the application of pesticides and may 
include two alternate dates in the event that an outdoor application cannot 
be made due to weather conditions; 
 
(ii) the pesticide product name and pesticide registration number 
assigned by the United States Environmental Protection Agency; 
 
(iii) the following statement: "This notice is to inform you of a pending 
pesticide application at this facility. You may wish to discuss with a 
representative of the day care facility what precautions are being taken to 
protect your child from exposure to these pesticides. Further information 
about the product or products being applied, including any warnings that 
appear on the label of the pesticide or pesticides that are pertinent to the 
protection of humans, animals or the environment, can be obtained by 
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calling the National Pesticide Information Center at 1-800-858-7378 or the 
New York State Department of Health Center for Environmental Health 
Info Line at 1-800-458-1158"; and 
 
(iv) the name of a representative of the day care facility and contact 
number for additional information. 

 
(3) Any day care program that fails to send the appropriate notice of pesticide 
application as set forth in section 414.11(j)(2) of this Part, for a first such 
violation, shall be issued a written warning in lieu of penalty. For a second 
violation, such program shall be subject to a penalty not to exceed one hundred 
dollars. For any subsequent violation, such program shall be subject to a penalty 
not to exceed two hundred fifty dollars for each violation. No penalty may be 
assessed by the Commissioner without affording the registrant with notice and an 
opportunity for a hearing pursuant to section 413.5 of this Article. 
 
(4) Any finding by the Department of Environmental Conservation of a violation 
by the program of the requirements set forth in sections 33-1004 or 33-1005 of  
the Environmental Conservation Law shall be deemed a safety hazard to children 
in care and a violation of section 414.11(j) of this Part.  

  
414.12 Nutrition 
 

(a) The school-age child care program must provide plentiful and nutritious snacks to 
children. 
 
(b) When a program operates during school holidays and/or school vacations, the 
program must ensure that each child in care for more than four hours a day receives a 
nutritious meal. 
 
(c) Each child in care for more than ten hours a day must receive a minimum of two 
nutritious meals.  
 
(d) Food must be prepared and stored in a safe and sanitary manner and served at 
appropriate intervals. 
 
(e) If the program does not furnish meals, there must be adequate nutritious 
supplemental food available in the event that no meal is provided by the parent or if the 
meal provided by the parent is of inadequate nutritional value. 
 
(f) Programs changing their meal policy must provide adequate notice to parents. 
(g) Where meals are furnished by the program, food preferences for personal, religious 
or medical reasons may be accommodated. If resultant meal patterns or serving sizes 
will not meet the child's nutritional needs, a medical statement must be obtained 
documenting the appropriateness of the variation. 
 
(h) Where meals are furnished by the school age child care program, the servings must 
be in portions suitable for the size and age of the children. There must be a sufficient 
amount of food available to children to permit second helpings of nutritious food.
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(i) Children must be encouraged to learn acceptable table manners appropriate to their 
developmental levels. 
 
(j) Sufficient time, based on age and individual needs, must be allowed for meals so that 
children will not be hurried. 
 
(k) Perishable food and liquids must be refrigerated. 
 
(l) Safe drinking water must be available to children at all times and must be offered at 
intervals that are responsive to the needs of the individual children. 
 
(m) Disposable cups and plates and plastic eating utensils may be used if discarded 
after use. 
 
(n) If foods for children are heated in a microwave, the food must be stirred and allowed 
to reach serving temperature before serving them to prevent burns from hot spots. 
 
(o) A staff person must not force or bribe a child to eat nor use food as a reward or 
punishment. 
 
(p) Fluid milk, 100% juice and/or water, are the only beverages a program may provide 
to children in care. 
 
(q) When milk is served as a beverage, low-fat or fat-free milk (1% fat or less) must be 
served.  
 
(r) Programs that provide meals and/or snacks to children must be in compliance with 
the USDA Child and Adult Food Program (CACFP) meal patterns.   
 
(s) When provided by the parent, meals, snacks and beverages are not subject to the 
CACFP meal pattern or regulatory beverage standards. 
 
(t) All children with dietary restrictions based on a child’s medical condition or religious 
beliefs of the family are exempt from CACFP meal pattern requirements and/or 
beverage requirements in regulation when instructed in writing by the parent to the 
program. 
 
(u) The program must share information on healthy food and beverage choices and the 
prevention of childhood obesity with the parent. 
 
(v) Four weeks of current meal and snack menus, as applicable, must be reviewed for 
nutritional content, variety and quality at the time of initial application and once every 24 
months by a Federal Child and Adult Care Food Program specialist responsible for 
reviewing and approving menus, or by a person who has a bachelor's or master's 
degree with a major in food and institutional management or a closely related field and 
who has completed a dietician internship or has been certified as a registered dietician 
or has an equivalent state certification. 

 
(w) Individual children’s food allergies must be posted in a discreet location visible only 
to staff.
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(x) Staff must take steps to prevent a child’s exposure to the foods to which the child is 
allergic. 

 
414.13 Staff Qualifications 
 

(a) Staff members must be qualified by training and experience to carry out their 
respective functions in the administration, operation and maintenance of the school-age 
child care program.  

 
(1) Staff and volunteers must be mature, of good character and possess suitable 
personal qualifications.  
 
(2) Staff and volunteers must be in good physical and mental health, and have 
the energy and emotional stability necessary to fulfill the responsibilities of their 
positions. 
 

(b) School-age child care programs must review and evaluate the backgrounds of all 
applicants for staff and volunteer positions. All applicants whose backgrounds must be 
reviewed must be required to provide the following: 

 
(1) a statement or summary of each applicant's employment history including, but 
not limited to, any relevant child-caring experience; 
 
(2) the names, addresses and day time telephone numbers of at least two 
acceptable references, other than relatives, at least one of whom can verify 
employment history, work record and qualifications, and at least one of whom 
can attest to the applicant's character, habits and personal qualifications to be a 
school-age child care program staff member; 
 
(3) a sworn statement by the applicant indicating whether, to the best of the 
applicant's knowledge, such applicant has ever been convicted of a 
misdemeanor or felony in New York State or any other jurisdiction and fingerprint 
images as required to comply with the requirements of 413.4 of this Title;  
 
(4) the information necessary to determine whether the applicant is the subject of 
an indicated report of child abuse and maltreatment as required by section 
414.10(b)(1)(i) of this Part; 
 
(5) the information necessary to determine whether the applicant is listed on the 
register of substantiated category one cases of abuse or neglect maintained by 
the Justice Center for the Protection of Persons with Special Needs, pursuant to 
Section 495 of the Social Services Law, as required by section 414.10(b)(1)(ii); 
and 
 
(6) The information necessary to complete the criminal history review and 
background clearance requirements as outlined in this Part. This information 
must be submitted to the Office on forms provided by the Office.  
 

(c) If an applicant discloses in the sworn statement furnished in accordance with section 
414.13(b)(3) that he or she has been convicted of a misdemeanor or felony, the school-
age child care program must inform the Office and provide a copy of the statement to the 
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Office so the Office may take appropriate action in conformance with the provisions of 
section 413.4 of this Article. 
 
(d) Each program must have a staff person who meets the qualifications set forth in 
section 414.13(g)(1) to perform supervision functions for that program. 

 
(1) Each school-age child care program must be staffed to perform 
administrative/fiscal management functions and, during all hours of operation, 
program supervision functions, including developing, directing and supervising 
the daily activity programs for children. These functions may be performed by 
one individual or may be shared in any combination between two or more 
individuals. 
 
(2) When an agency operates multiple registered programs, the person 
performing the administrative/fiscal management functions may be shared across 
such programs.  
 
(3) With the prior written approval of the Office, a staff person who is qualified to 
perform program supervision functions may perform such functions at up to four 
different programs operated by a single agency. In order to obtain Office 
approval, the agency will be required to demonstrate how the staff person will 
provide adequate supervision and program development support to each site. 

 
(e) In school-age child care programs where the registered capacity is less than 45 
children, a group teacher or an assistant teacher may also perform administrative/fiscal 
management functions and/or program supervision functions, provided that the 
qualifications for such positions as set forth in 414.13(g)(1) have been met.  
 
(f) In school-age child care programs with a registered capacity of 45 or more children 
enrolled, the administrative/fiscal management functions and program supervision 
functions may not be performed by a group teacher or an assistant teacher. 
 

  Education   Experience 

Person responsible 
for program 

supervision functions 
(Director) 

Associate's degree in 
Child Development, 

Elementary Education, 
Physical Education, 

Recreation or a related 
field  

AND 

Two years direct 
experience working 

with children less than 
13 years of age, 

including at least one 
year in a supervisory 

capacity in a child care 
program or related field 

of work. 

  OR     
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New York State 

Children's Program 
Administrator credential 

AND 

Two years direct 
experience working 

with children under the 
age of 13 years, 

including at least one 
year in a supervisory 

capacity in a child care 
program or related field 

of work. 

  OR     

  

School Age Child Care 
Credential or other 
Office recognized 

credential specific to the 
school-age 

developmental period. 

AND 

Two years direct 
experience working 

with children under the 
age of 13 years, 

including at least one 
year in a supervisory 

capacity in a child care 
program or related field 

of work. 

  OR     

  

Two years of college 
with 18 credits in Child 

Development, 
Elementary Education, 

Physical Education, 
Recreation or a related 

field   

AND 

Two years direct 
experience working 

with children under the 
age of 13 years 

including at least one 
year in a supervisory 

capacity in a child care 
program or related field 

of work.  

 Group Teacher 

Associate's degree in 
Child Development,  

Elementary Education, 
Physical Education, 

Recreation or a related 
field 

AND 
No additional 

experience required 

  OR     

 

School-age Child Care 
Credential or other 
Office recognized 

credential specific to the 
school- age 

developmental period. 

AND 

One year experience 
working with children 
less than 13 years of 

age. 

 OR   

 
  

High School diploma or 
its equivalent  

AND 

Two years direct 
experience working 

with children under 13 
years of age 
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Assistant teacher 
High School diploma or 

its equivalent 
OR 

One year experience 
working with children 
under 13 years of age 

 

(g) The minimum education and experience qualifications for staff are as follows:  
 

(1) To be qualified as a director, a person must possess either: 
 

(i)  an Associate’s degree in Child Development, Elementary 
Education, Physical Education, Recreation or a related field; and 
two years of direct experience working with children less than 13 
years of age, including at least one year in a supervisory capacity 
in a child care program or related field of work; or 

 
(ii)  a New York State Children’s Program Administrator Credential; 

and two years of direct experience working with children less 
than 13 years of age, including at least one year in a supervisory 
capacity in a child care program or related field of work; or 

 
(iii)  a School-Age Child Care Credential or other Office-recognized 

credential specific to the school-age developmental period; and 
two years of direct experience working with children less than 13 
years of age, including at least one year in a supervisory capacity 
in a child care program or related field of work; or 

 
(iv)  two years of college with 18 credits in Child Development, 

Elementary Education, Physical Education, Recreation or a 
related field; and two years of direct experience working with 
children less than 13 years of age, including at least one year in 
a supervisory capacity in a child care program or related field of 
work. 

 
(2) To be qualified as a group teacher, a person must possess either: 
 

(i)  an associate's degree in child development, elementary 
education, physical education, recreation or a related field; or  

 
(ii)  a School-Age Child Care Credential or other Office-recognized 

credential specific to the school-age developmental period; and 
one year of experience working with children less than 13 years 
of age; or 

 
(iii)  a High School Diploma or its equivalent; and two years of direct 

experience working with children less than 13 years of age. 
 

(3) To be qualified as an assistant teacher, a person must possess either:  
 

(i)  a High School Diploma, or its equivalent, or 
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(ii)  one year of experience working with children less than 13 years 
of age. 

 
(h) The provision of 414.13(g) notwithstanding, persons holding positions in a school-
age child care program prior to the effective date of these regulations who met the 
qualifications which were in effect at the time they were hired may continue to be 
employed in such positions. 
 
(i) No person other than a director, group teacher or assistant teacher may supervise a 
group independently even for brief periods of time, except in an emergency.  
 
(j) The minimum age of a staff person is 16 years of age.  

 
414.14 Training 
 

(a) Before the Office issues an application for a school age child care program 
registration, to a person or entity yet to hold a day care license or registration, the 
applicant must complete an Office approved pre-application orientation session. 
 
(b) Each applicant for, or individual in the position of director, teacher, or volunteer must 
complete Office- approved training that complies with federal minimum health and safety 
pre-service or three-month orientation period requirements. This training must be 
obtained pre-service or within three months of starting such position. 
 

(1) Any teacher, director, or volunteer who has not completed this training must 
not be left unsupervised with children in care until such time as the training has 
been completed. 

 
(c) Each staff person and volunteer must complete a minimum of thirty (30) hours of 

training every two years. The required (30) hours of training every two years is subject to 

the following conditions:  

(1) Fifteen of the required thirty (30) hours of training must be obtained during the 

person’s first six months at the program. 

  
(2) A minimum of five (5) hours of Office approved training must be obtained 
each year which addresses topics or subject matters set forth in 414.14(d). 

 
(d) Training must address all topics or subject matters required by state and federal law.  
The required state topics are; 

 
(1) principles of childhood development, focusing on the developmental stages of 
the age groups for which the program provides care; 
 
(2) nutrition and health needs of children; 
 
(3) child care program development; 
 
(4) safety and security procedures;  
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(5) business record maintenance and management;  
 

(6) child abuse and maltreatment identification and prevention;  
 

(7) statutes and regulations pertaining to child care;  
 
(8) statutes and regulations pertaining to child abuse and maltreatment; and 
 
(9) adverse childhood experiences, focused on understanding trauma and on 
nurturing resiliency. 

 
(e) Training received before the application has been approved and the registration 
granted may be counted towards the initial fifteen (15 hours required in section 
414.14(c)(1) of this Part provided that such training was completed within 12 months of 
registration. 

 
(f) After satisfying all of the training requirements for a two year period, an individual 
can carry over all training hours earned within the last 90 days of the two year period, 
to count toward the training requirements for the next two year period. Individuals must 
still obtain a minimum of five (5) hours of training annually pursuant to section 
414.14(c)(2) of this Part. 
 
(g) For the thirty (30) hours of training that must be received every two years, any person 
responsible for developing, directing and supervising the daily activity programs for 
children who can demonstrate basic competency in a particular topic to the Office may 
determine in which of the specified topics he or she needs further study. The Office may 
also exempt any person responsible for developing, directing and supervising the daily 
activity programs for children from participating in training on a particular topic upon 
demonstration of substantially equivalent knowledge or experience related to that topic. 
All persons with such exemptions must still complete a minimum of thirty (30) hours of 
training every two years, and a minimum of five (5) hours of training each year. 
 
(h) The program must submit verification of completion of the training requirements to 
their program's designated registration office on forms provided by the Office or an 
approved equivalent. 
 
(i) All training that counts toward the required thirty hours of training must be approved 
by the Office of Children and Family Services as per office policies regarding training 
and trainers. 
 
(j) Staff who will be responsible for administering medications must receive training 
pursuant to section 414.11(e) of this Part. 
 
(k) All child care programs must have at least one staff person who holds a valid 
certification in cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) and first aid on the premises of the 
program during the program’s operating hours.  
 
(l) CPR and first aid certifications must be appropriate to the ages of the children in care. 
All certifications in CPR and first aid must contain an in-person competency component. 
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(m) The staff persons who hold the valid certification in CPR and First Aid must have 
their certification available for review during their working hours at the program. 

 
414.15 Management and administration 
 

(a) General registration requirements. 
 
(1) Obtain a Registration and Operate in Compliance with Applicable Laws and 
Regulations. 
 

(i) Each school-age child care program must obtain a registration from 
the Office. No person or entity may operate a school-age child care 
program without a registration from the Office. 

 
(ii) Each school age child care program must operate in compliance 

with the regulations of the Office and all other applicable laws 
and regulations.  

(iii) Each school age child care program must operate in compliance 
with all emergency health guidance promulgated by the 
Department of Health in the interest of public health during a 
designated public health emergency. Provided that, during a 
designated public health emergency, any relevant emergency 
directives from the executive chamber or from the Department of 
Health shall supersede regulations of the Office in the case of 
any conflict. 

 
(2) Each school age child care program that has been issued a registration by 
the Office must openly display such registration, along with any restrictions, 
limitations and waivers to the registration, in the program for which it was 
issued.  
 
(3) A new application for a registration must be submitted to the Office when 
there is a change in the address or owner or when a registration is sought 
following the revocation of or denial of an application to renew a registration. 
 
(4) The provisions specified on the registration are binding and the school-age 
child care program must operate in compliance with the terms of the registration. 
The number and age range of children specified thereon are the maximum 
number and age range of children who may be in the care of the school-age child 
care program at any one time. 
 
(5) No registration will be issued unless the program is in full compliance with the 
regulations of the Office and all other applicable laws and regulations except 
where a waiver of one or more requirements of this Part has been approved in 
writing by the Office in accordance with section 413.5 of this Title. 
 
(6) The effective period of the initial registration for a school age child care 
program will be up to four years and any subsequent registration will be up to 
four years each so long as the program remains in compliance with applicable 
laws and regulations during such periods.
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(7) A registration is not transferable to any other person, entity or location. 
 
(8) A school age child care program required to be registered with the Office will 
not be exempt from this requirement through registration with another State 
agency or certification, registration or licensure by any local governmental 
agency or authorized agency. 
 
(9) Before denial of an application for a registration or renewal of a registration, 
the registrant is entitled to a hearing before the Office pursuant to Part 413 of 
this Title. 

 
(b) General operation requirements. 

 
(1) Individual children must be cared for less than 24 hours a day. No teacher 
may work more than two consecutive shifts. 
 
(2) The registrant must make a written request to the Office before providing an 
additional shift of care beyond what was specified and approved in the initial 
application. 
 
(3)  The registrant cannot provide an additional shift of care until the changes 
have been approved in writing by the Office. 
 
(4) The staff and volunteers must be in good health and be of good character and 
habits. 
 
(5) The submission of fraudulent or altered documents to the Office or its 
representatives is prohibited. 
 
(6) Confidentiality. 
 

(i) Information relating to an individual child is confidential and cannot be 
disclosed without written parental permission to anyone other than the 
Office, its designees or other persons authorized by law.  
 
(ii) Information relating to an individual child may be disclosed to a social 
services district where the child receives a day care subsidy from the 
district, where the child has been named in a report of alleged child abuse 
or maltreatment, or as otherwise authorized by law. 
 
(iii) Redisclosure of confidential HIV-related information, as defined in 
section 360-8.1 of the Public Health Law, concerning a child receiving 
school-age child care is not permitted except in a manner consistent with 
article 27-F of the Public Health Law. 

 
(7) A school-age child care program may not refuse to admit a child to the 
program solely because the child has a developmental delay or a disability or has 
been diagnosed as having human immunodeficiency virus (HIV), HIV-related 
illness or acquired immune deficiency syndrome (AIDS). Each such child must be 
evaluated by the program to determine whether the child could be 
accommodated in the program if reasonable modifications are made to the 
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premises and/or program. Nothing contained in section 414.11 shall be deemed 
to require the program to incur significant additional expenses to modify the 
premises and/or program to accommodate such a child. 
 
(8) The parent of a child receiving care must have:  

 
(i) unlimited and on demand access to such child;  

 
(ii) the right to inspect all parts of the building used for child day care or 
which could present a hazard to the health or safety of the child 
whenever the parent requests at any time during the hours of operation 
of the school age child care program; 
 
(iii) unlimited and on demand access to the director and teachers 
whenever such child is in care or during the normal hours of operation; 
and  
 
(iv) unlimited and on demand access to written records concerning such 
child except where access to such records is otherwise restricted by law; 

 
(9) Electronic monitors and surveillance equipment. 

 
(i) The parents of all children receiving care in a school age child care 
program equipped with electronic monitoring devices or surveillance 
cameras installed for the purpose of allowing parents to view their 
children in the day care setting by means of the internet must be 
informed that cameras will be used for this purpose. All staff of the 
school age child care program must also be informed if video 
surveillance cameras will be used for this purpose. 
 
(ii) All parents of children enrolled in the school age child care program 
and all staff and volunteers of the program must be made aware of the 
locations of all video surveillance cameras used at the school age child 
care program. 
 
(iii) School age child care programs opting to install and use electronic 
monitoring devices or surveillance cameras must comply with all State 
and federal laws applicable to the use of such equipment. 
 
(iv) Electronic monitoring devices or surveillance cameras may not be 
used as a substitute for competent direct supervision of children. 
 
(v) Electronic monitoring devices or surveillance cameras are permitted 
to transmit images of children in common rooms, hallways and play 
areas only. Bathrooms and changing areas must remain private and free 
of all video surveillance equipment. 
 
(vi) School age child care programs that use electronic monitoring 
devices or surveillance cameras must allow inspectors and other 
representatives of the Office to have access to such equipment and to 
have viewing privileges as required by the Office
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(vii) Parents of children, staff and volunteers must be notified when 
electronic monitoring devices or surveillance cameras are used. 
 
(viii) School age child care programs opting to allow parents to view their 
children in the day care setting by means of the internet must use and 
maintain adequate internet security measures at all times. Such  
measures include but are not limited to: frequent changes of passwords; 
filtering measures that prohibit public access to or viewing of program 
activities via the internet; and immediate corrective action in response to 
any report of abuse of the system or inappropriate access. Such 
programs must also advise the parents having access to views of the 
school age child care program through the internet of the importance of 
security in regard to such viewing and of the importance of the privacy 
rights of other children who may be viewed. 
 

(10) Inspectors, Representatives of the Office and Child Protective Services 
 
(i) The school age child care program must admit inspectors and other 
representatives of the Office onto the grounds and premises at any time 
during the hours of operation of the program. Inspectors and 
representatives of the Office must be given free access to the building or 
buildings used by the school age child care program staff and children 
and any records of the program.  

 
(ii) A school age child care program must cooperate with inspectors and 
other representatives of the Office in regard to any inspections or 
investigations that are conducted by the Office or its representatives. 
 
(iii) A school age child care program must cooperate with local Child 
Protective Services' Staff conducting any investigation of alleged child 
abuse or maltreatment. 
 
(iv) No staff person or volunteer may place or attempt to place an Office 
representative, who is performing his/her role as such, in reasonable 
fear of physical injury. 
 
(v) Any intentional display of physical or verbal force, which would give 
an Office representative reason to fear or expect bodily harm, is 
prohibited. 
 
(vi) Intentional and wrongful physical contact with an office 
representative is prohibited. 

 
(11) In hiring a director subsequent to issuance of a registration, a program: 
 

(i) must notify the Office immediately in writing when there is any change 
in director; 
 
(ii) must submit to the Office within 15 days of the written notification of 
the change in director the name of any new director and the supporting 
documentation needed to complete the approval process including: 
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(a) the forms necessary for the Office to inquire whether the 
applicant is the subject of an indicated report of child abuse or 
maltreatment on file with the Statewide Central Register of Child 
Abuse and Maltreatment; 
 
(b) the forms necessary to check the register of substantiated 
category one cases of abuse or neglect maintained by the Justice 
Center for the Protection of Persons with Special Needs pursuant 
to Section 495 of the Social Services Law, 
 
(c) fingerprint images necessary for the Office to conduct a 
criminal history review;  
 
(d) a sworn statement indicating whether, to the best of the 
applicant's knowledge, he or she has ever been convicted of a 
misdemeanor or felony in New York State or any other jurisdiction; 
and 
 
(e)  two acceptable references;  

 
(iii) must obtain a medical statement before the person has any 
involvement with children in care, as required in section 414.11 of this 
Part;  
 
(iv) may, during the Office's review of all documentation for any proposed 
director, continue to operate the program; and 
 
(v) may not leave the proposed director in sole charge of or unsupervised 
with children until such time as the Office approves the proposed director. 
 

(12) The school age child care program must report to the Office:  
 

(i) immediately upon learning of a change that affects those portions of 
the building and property in which the program is operating or which are 
used for the children's egress in the case of emergency; 
 
(ii) at least thirty days in advance of any proposed changes to the area 
used for child care;  
 
(iii) immediately or no later than the next day of business of the director’s 
resignation or termination; 
 
(iv) immediately upon learning of any other change that would place the 
school age child care program out of compliance with applicable 
regulations; 
 
(v) any change in email address for the director or other designee when 
such change becomes effective; and 
 
(vi) any change to contact information when such changes become 
effective.
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(13) All staff and volunteers of the school age child care program must be 
familiar with the Office regulations and policies governing such programs, and 
the program’s policies. Such regulations and policies must be readily accessible 
to staff and volunteers for reference purposes. 
 
(14) The program must immediately notify the parent and Office upon learning of 
the following events involving a child which occurred while the child was in care 
at the program or was being transported by the program: 

 
(i) death,  

 
(ii) serious incident,  

 
(iii) serious injury,  

 
(iv) serious condition,  

 
(v) communicable disease, or  

 
(vi) transportation to a hospital. 

 
(15) Parents must be given the opportunity to discuss issues related to their 
children and the care of their children with the director, group teacher or 
assistant teacher. Such opportunities must occur at the time of enrollment and 
as frequently as needed thereafter, but at least annually. 
 
(16) The indoor and outdoor areas of the school age child care program where 
the children are being cared for must not be used for any non-child care activity 
or other business or social purpose when children are present such that the 
attention of staff is diverted from the care of the children.  

 
(17) Fire and Police Notifications 

 
(i) Within five days after receiving the initial registration and before 
actually commencing operation, the program must, using a form 
specified by the Office or an approved equivalent for that purpose, notify 
the local police and fire departments of the municipality within which the 
school age child care program is located of the following: 

 
(a) the address of the school age child care program; 

 
(b) the maximum capacity of the school age child care program; 
  
(c) the age range of children that will be in care; and 
 
(d) the hours during which children will be in care. 
 

(ii) If the local municipality does not have a police or fire department, the 
sheriff of the county within which the program is located must be notified 
instead. The program must notify the local police and fire departments or 
the county sheriff, as appropriate, if there is any change in any of the 
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information required to be provided pursuant to section 414.15(b)(17)(i)  
of this Part. 

 
(18) When the Office notifies the program that such a statement is required, the 
program must provide a statement from the appropriate local official or authority 
that the building meets standards for sanitation and safety. 
 
(19) The school age child care program must comply with all applicable State 
and federal laws relating to equal employment opportunities. 
 
(20) All school age child care programs that accept direct and indirect payments 
from a social services district, or a payment from a parent or caretaker, for 
providing subsidized child care must comply with all relevant requirements of 
the child care subsidy program and section 415.4(h) of this Title. 
 
(21) A school age child care program must give the parent, at the time of 
admission of a child, a written policy statement including, but not limited to:  

 
(i) the responsibilities of the program;  
 
(ii) the responsibilities of the parent;  
 
(iii) the policies of the school age child care program regarding admission 
and disenrollment policies;  
 
(iv) how parents will be notified of accidents, serious incidents and 
injuries;  
 
(v) the behavior management plan;  
 
(vi) a summary of the program’s evacuation plan including the primary 
and secondary evacuation sites,   
 
(vii) the program activities to be provided; 
 
(viii)  a summary of the program's health care policies, including the level 
of illness the program will accommodate;  
 
(ix) actions the school age child care program will take in the event the 
child is not picked up as scheduled;  
 
(x) the food service arrangements;  
 
(xi) instructional materials on the available procedures and legal remedies 
if they suspect their child has been abused or maltreated;  
 
(xii) how to access the regulations; 
 
(xiii) contact information for the Office including the Child Care Complaint 
Line;  
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(xiv) transportation policy; and 
 
(xv) information on healthy food and beverage choices and the 
prevention of childhood obesity. 

 
(22) The school age child care program must post or display conspicuously in a 
place to which parents have free and daily access, the following: 

 
(i) the Office's school age child care program regulations; 
 
(ii) the name(s), addresses and telephone numbers of person(s) with the 
legal responsibility and administrative authority for the operation of the 
program;  
 
(iii) the address and telephone number of the appropriate regional office  
which may be contacted to lodge a complaint against the school age 
child care program for violations of statutory and regulatory 
requirements; and 
 
(iv) a copy of the most recent compliance history report immediately 
after it is issued to the program by the Office. 

 
(23) Upon termination or resignation of the director: 

 
(i) An acting director must be immediately named by the registrant. 
 
(ii) The appointment of the acting director must be shared with the Office 
by the next day of business. 

 
(iii) The acting director must be knowledgeable about the program’s 
operation and policies. 

 
(iv) An approved, permanent director must be on-site, performing the 
duties of the position, within ninety days.  

 
(24) When a school age child care program is operated by an entity other than a 
sole proprietor, such entity shall immediately notify the Office upon any transfer 
or reapportionment of stock or any change in ownership. 
 
(25) When a school age child care program is located in a multi-use building, 
those portions of the building designated for the care of children must be used 
exclusively for child day care during the hours that children are present.   
 
(26) Each school age child care program must be staffed to perform 
administrative/fiscal management functions and, during all hours of operation, 
program supervision functions, including developing, directing and supervising 
daily activity programs for children. These functions may be performed by one 
individual or may be shared in any combination between two or more 
individuals. 
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(27) When an agency operates multiple school age child care programs, the 
staff person performing the administrative/fiscal management functions may be 
shared across such programs. 
 
(28) Child day care programs must keep all records relevant to the current 
licensing period, and the immediately preceding registration period. 
 
(29) Mid-point requirements for four-year registration holders. At the two-year 
calendar date in a four year registration cycle, a program must be in compliance 
with the following mid-point requirements and be able to show proof of 
compliance to the Office when requested, as follows: 

 
(i) proof of compliance with the training requirements of section 414.14; 
 
(ii) where a program uses a private water supply, a report from a state 
licensed laboratory or individual, based on tests performed within the 12 
months preceding the calendar date of the two-year mark in a four year 
registration, showing that the water meets standards for drinking water 
established by the New York State Department of Health; 
 
(iii) documentation from service personnel licensed by the New York 
State Department of State to perform fire alarm systems maintenance, 
repair and testing which shows that the fire alarm and detection systems 
have been inspected, tested and maintained during the current 
registration period in accordance with the applicable requirements of the 
Fire and Building code of New York State or other applicable fire and 
building codes when the Fire and Building Code of New York State is 
not applicable, for use of the building as a school age child care 
program; 
 
(iv) documentation from service personnel qualified to perform fire 
suppression systems testing showing that fire suppression equipment 
and systems have been tested and maintained during the current 
registration period in accordance with the requirements of the Fire Code 
and Building Code of New York State, or other applicable fire and 
building codes when the Fire and Building Code of New York State is 
not applicable, for use of the building as a school age child care 
program; and 
 
(v) documentation from an inspector from the New York State 
Department of Labor, or an insurance company licensed to write boiler 
insurance in New York State, showing that all steam or hot water boilers 
have been inspected and approved during the current license period in 
accordance with the requirements of the New York State Department of 
Labor. For all other fuel burning heating systems and equipment, and 
boilers not subject to the New York State Department of Labor 
requirements, documentation of service by a heating contractor 
performed within the 12 months preceding the date of application for 
renewal. 
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(30) Programs must follow safety plans developed by the Office when allegations 
of risk of harm to child(ren) against the program, staff, volunteer or visitor are 
under investigation.   

 
(c) The program must maintain on file at the program, available for inspection by the 
Office or its designees at any time, the following records in a current and accurate 
manner: 

 
(1) a copy of the evacuation plan, evacuation drills, and shelter-in-place drills 
conducted, on forms furnished by the Office or approved equivalents, as required 
in sections 414.4 and 414.5 of this Part; 
 
(2) an approved health care plan on forms furnished by the Office, as required 
in section 414.11 of this Part; 
 
(3) the name, address, gender, and date of birth of each child and each child's 
parents' names, addresses, telephone numbers and place(s) at which the 
parents or other persons responsible for the child can be reached in case of an 
emergency; 
 
(4) the names and addresses of persons authorized to take the child(ren) from 
the program; 
 
(5) daily attendance records, which must be filled out at the time a child arrives 
and departs, and must include arrival and departure times; 
 
(6) children's individual health care plans; parental consents for emergency 
medical treatment; the name and dosage of any medications used by a child, the 
frequency of administration of such medications, and a record of their 
administration by program staff; daily health check documentation; a record of 
illnesses and injuries occurring while in care; and any indicators of child abuse or 
maltreatment; 
 
(7) copies of current staff and volunteers health statements; 
 
(8) copies of the program’s personnel policies and practices; 
 
(9) a description of program activities offered to meet the needs of children, as 
described in section 414.7 of this Part; 
 
(10) a description of the procedure to be used to review and evaluate the 
background information supplied by applicants for employment and volunteer 
positions, as required in section 414.13 of this Part; 
 
(11) personnel information including a list of all staff with job assignments and 
schedules; each staff and volunteer’s final and, if applicable, provisional criminal 
history review and background check approval letter(s); staff resumes; medical 
statements; acceptable references and other information required by section 
414.13 of this Part; 
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(12) a current daily schedule documenting the arrival and departure times of 
each staff person and volunteers; 
 
(13)  a description of the schedule and content of training as required in section 
414.14 of this Part, including use of both in-service training and outside training 
resources; 
 
(14) when the registrant is an entity other than a sole proprietorship, the 
following additional documentation: 
 

(i) a copy of the certificate of incorporation, partnership agreement, or 
articles of organization and any amendments thereto; 
 
(ii) verification of filing of the certificate of incorporation, partnership 
agreement, or articles of organization and any amendments thereto with 
the Secretary of State;  
 
(iii) a current list of the names of the board of directors, partners or 
members and their addresses, telephone numbers of the current 
principal officers and members, and the business and civic qualifications 
of all such individuals; 

 
(15) a copy of the notification form provided to the local police and fire 
departments or the county sheriff as required in section 414.15(b)(17)(i) of this 
Part;  
 
(16) the napping agreement for any child who naps while in care; 
 
(17) the transportation policy and written parental permission for the 
transportation of each child in care; 
 
(18) written parental permission for aquatic activities and the plan which details 
the system of supervising and checking children who are swimming, pursuant to 
section 414.5(g)(4) of this Part; 
 
(19) current cardio-pulmonary resuscitation and first aid certificates as required 
pursuant to section 414.14 of this Part; 
 
(20) a sample copy of all forms used in the program; 
 
(21) all records relevant to the current registration period, and the immediately 
preceding licensing period; 
 
(22) documentation from the local health department or the New York State 
Department of Health showing that the facility has been approved in 
accordance with the requirements of the New York State Department of Health; 
 
(23) a description of specific procedures which will assure the safety of a child 
who is reported to the Statewide Central Register of Child Abuse and 
Maltreatment as well as other children provided care in the program; 



414.15(c)(24)   414.15(c)(32) 

New York State Child Day Care Regulations (Effective October 13, 2021) ♦ Part 414: School-Age Child Care 
Page 59 

(24) a description of policies and practices regarding appropriate supervision of 
children in conformance with section 414.8 of this Part; 
 
(25) a description of the pattern of supervision of staff by the director or other 
responsible person, and procedures to assure adequate and appropriate 
supervision of staff and volunteers of the program; 
 
(26) when meals are provided by the facility: 
 

(i) evidence that four weeks of current menus for snacks and meals 
have been reviewed by a person qualified in nutrition as being compliant 
with USDA Child and Adult Food Program meal patterns, as required in 
section 414.12(v) of this part; or 
 
(ii) a copy of the current letter of approval of the food program issued by 
the Federal Child and Adult Care Food Program; or 
 
(iii) a description of food service arrangements if meals are not prepared 
at the center; 

 
(27) when the school age child care program is owned by an individual, 
corporation, partnership or other entity using a business or assumed name, a 
copy of the certificate of doing business under an assumed name obtained from 
the county clerk; 
 
(28) a copy of a certificate of insurance from an insurance company showing 
the intent to provide general liability insurance to the program upon registration 
and a copy of the insurance policy issued after licensure; 
 
(29) where a program uses a private water supply, a report from a state 
licensed laboratory or individual, based on tests performed within the 12 months 
preceding the date of application for registration, showing that the water meets 
standards for drinking water established by the New York State Department of 
Health; 
 
(30) a copy of the certification that the building, property and premises and the 
surrounding neighborhood and environment are free from environmental 
hazards, as required in section 414.2(a)(6) and 414.2(e)(6) of this Part; 
 
(31) documentation from service personnel licensed by the New York State 
Department of State to perform fire alarm systems maintenance, repair and 
testing which shows that the fire alarm and detection systems have been 
inspected, tested and maintained during the current registration period in 
accordance with the applicable requirements of the Fire and Building Code of 
New York State;  
 
(32) documentation from service personnel qualified to perform fire suppression 
systems maintenance, repair and testing showing that fire suppression 
equipment and systems have been tested and maintained during the current 
registration period in accordance with the applicable requirements of the Fire 
and Building Code of New York State;
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(33) documentation from the local government authority having jurisdiction for 
determining compliance with the Fire and Building Code of New York State  
showing that the facility has been inspected and approved once every 12 
months during the current registration period for compliance with the applicable 
fire safety provisions of the Fire and Building Code of New York State; 
 
(34) documentation showing inspection and approval of any steam or hot water 
boilers performed in accordance with the requirements of the New York State 
Department of Labor and service performed once every 24 months during the 
current registration period on all other fuel burning heating systems and 
equipment and boilers not subject to the New York State Department of Labor 
requirements. 

     
(d) A school age child care program located in a public school building currently used 
for an elementary, middle or secondary public education program approved or 
inspected by the State Education Department is exempt from the requirements set forth 
in sections 414.15(b)(29)(ii-v), and 414.15(c)(29-34). Such program must maintain on 
file copies of the current certificate of occupancy issued by the State Education 
Department. If a program is not issued a certificate of occupancy, the appropriate local 
equivalent, acceptable to the State Education Department, must be maintained on file. 

 
(e) Where multiple sites are operated by one organization, records, other than those of 
children currently enrolled in the school age child care program, may be retained at a 
central administrative location. The organization of these programs must make all such 
records available on site upon request by the Office or its designees.   


